Only through mistakes can there be discovery or progress.

The author claims that it is possible to make discovery or progress only through mistake. In my view, although developments or progresses usually come from persevering in trying and correcting. However, this claim is too extreme that ignores some achievements in our world.

Admittedly, learning from mistake is a route of becoming excellent. After all, practice makes perfect. This statement is valid through out infant to adult. To learn the mother language from null knowledge, babies experience innumerable frustrating attempts to speak, by correcting and modifying details for faulty sentences they speak every time, they can finally communicate with their parent and present accurately their moods and needs. For dancers, they correct and improve their postures and actions throughout practices, through the mistake they discover from the recording video and their coaches, they are able to perform perfectly on the stage.

Further more, trial and error is also the nature of the world, no matter in the biosphere or in the realm of science. In the history, scientists usually weather frustrations and mistakes, then by learning and correcting in each trial, they achieve their success. The invention of light bulb is a good example. Edison, who is the inventor of the light bulb, in his decades of research, he had tried a wide range of different material for the filaments to achieve durable and bright light bulb. In this process, he experience many of failure and finally found the element, tungsten, for the light bulb and therefore achieve such great contribution in human society. On the other hand, process of evolution just like the experiment of god: it discards the gene and descendants that is not suitable for the environment resulting in stable and durable biosphere.

However, there are a lot of things that don’t come from mistakes. To illustrate, the architecture is the brainchild of humans that has little tolerance of mistake. In this case, engineers need to make a deliberate plan and blue print for constructing a building, there is no room for trial and error. If the construction of a house or a bridge is not ensured without fault, then it not only will cause a huge amount of cost which brings from the reconstruction, but also resulting in great danger for the user. Therefore, for these areas that demand high precision, the rule of learning from mistake is not appropriate.

To sum up, it is undeniably that we can see many progresses or achievements came from mistakes, from the area of nature to human society. Nevertheless, we can not generalize this phenomena to every situation. Some works are based on meticulous and rigorous plan to achieve, which mistakes are not their necessity.