In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any woman or man as a hero. The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

With the advance of the media, people now are able to scrutinize the background and detail of a person much more exhausted than previous generation. Therefore, it raises a heated debate that whether or not the reputation of anyone will somewhat be diminished, so that it is impossible to deem someone as a hero. From my point of view, since nobody is a perfect human, I agree with that one’s prestige will to some extent be detracted, but for a real hero, a few foibles will not besmirch their prestiges.

I concede that everyone has its own foibles, the renowns of many celebrities will be detracted under the exhaustive coverage of media. To be specific, nowadays, the paparazzi are almost everywhere in the city. The details of the lives of famous people will be unveil by media. As a result, the “real” parts of human beings are no way to hide. For example, people usually presume famous singers or movie stars will dress like what they appear on the screen, that is, so elegant, beautiful and flawless. However, in their daily live, they may like ordinary people, wearing the slippers walking into a coffeeshop and in some circumstances, they even drop litters on the street. All these things, if being broadcasting on media, will definitely break their image of hero.

Nevertheless, for an authentic hero, their achievement, which have great contributions to the whole society, will not be diminished by these minor faults. The president Washington, leading American people to fight for their freedom and contributing for establishing the country is still be adored by people today although he secretly chopped his father’s cherry tree. Another example is that the Swiss girl who fight for conquering the global warming. Although she was captured by the media that she wasted a some food on the flight, she still merit for organizing a great amount of people to concern the issue of global warming, which the importance far outweighs the small amount of wast during her flight.

Furthermore, some behaviors, which are reckoned as bad things, are actually necessary to accomplish one’s goal. To illustrate, in a situation of emergency, such as pandemic, the administers may conceal some information from to be known by the publics, such as the location of infected cases. From the common value, to lie should be condemned. But in this case, it helps the government prevents the citizens from panic on one hand, and protecting personal secrets of the patients on the other. In my point of view, even though these bad things are uncovered by the media, it still not decay the prestige of a person.

To sum up, it can not be denied that media has uncover many details of a famous people and it would break their flawless image at the first glance. Whereas, people in wisdom would focus on the big picture, judging the status of a hero not merely on these small detail but look at the things a hero done for the whole society. Therefore, the reputation of those hero is still undiminished.