There are two types of laws: just and unjust. Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey laws and, even more importantly, to disobey and resist unjust laws.

The author claims that everyone has a responsibility to comply laws and against for unjust laws. In my view, although laws inevitably will consist some faults and unfair parts, however, to be so assertive to claim that we must disobey unjust laws is unjustifiable and may cause many problems.

I concede that laws sometimes have their vulnerabilities and faults, which need to be corrected or fought against. The fault can come from ideology or negligence. For example, the law in the past which limited the right for women to vote for their wished politician was originated in the ideology of past generation. And, the law that prohibits homosexual marriage is unfair because it limits people’s freedom. The purpose of that may owning to protecting people from having unhealthy baby. But, legislators may unconscious about the genetic technology today that can help us prevent the situation. Thus, these laws had been proved to be unfair and unjust today, and undoubtedly people need to resist and condemn.

However, in general, it is hard to define whether a law is fair or not, to encourage people to contradict the law from their personal judgement can be problematic. Since the norm in everybody’s mind may be different, it will have inconsistent out come for a same law. When we driving through the road and stop behind the traffic light, someone may think it is unfair to stop at the cross without other car but someone may think it is necessary to stop. Hence, the hard to judge a law’s equity due to human’s capricious nature.

Furthermore, another reason to dispute the claim that we need to resist the unjust law is that laws have the purpose to stabilize and maintain the order of societies. Once a law can be break arbitrarily, then it may causes turmoil in the society or vitiate the benefits of the public. Take the martial law as an example, it definitely an unfair law for that it ruins the freedom of human beings. However, it is important in during the time of warship or in a pandemic to ensure the stability and safety for most of the public. In these specific situations, it is necessary not to disobey the law.

To sum up, in the history, there are some laws turn out to be unjust and it should be resisted and modified. Nevertheless, in most of situations, it is hard to tell that whether a law is unjust due to the standards of different people. Also, following the law can help stabilize a society and reach maximum benefit of whole citizens.