Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The balance between work-live balance and efficacy of work is a substantial issue in the industry and it is also related to the well-being of workers. Some people suggest that working three days a week for longer hours is better than working five days a week but working shorter per day is better. In my view, I agree with this idea, and my reasons are shown as follows.

Admittedly, some people may claim that working fives days a week provides people more time to relax in the daily basis. However, it is not the case in most of industries. To be specific, nowadays people usually work in task-oriented jobs, that is, only after the work assigned to them is accomplished they can get go home, and if they don't accomplish it on-time, they need to work overtime. Therefore, this circumstance largely diminishes the benefit of the mode working five days a week.

On the other hand, working three days a week provides more flexibilities for me in organizing my life. To illustrate, we possess four days of totally-free break if we choose to work three days a week. In these period, we can enjoy our vacations whole-heart. For instance, we can plan a short trip to go to suburb overnight and immerse ourselves into the natural places. Or, we can participate in some classes, like horticulture courses or scuba diving courses, which normally takes three or more days to be completed. Thus, working three days a week affords workers a more flexible times and open more possibilities experiencing their leisure time.

Furthermore, the more intense work for continuous days boosts my potential and concentration which increase the efficiency in the work space. People's short-term memories are limited. Consider that you are trying to memorize some vocabularies. Many people will find they forget almost all the new words that they worked on last day after an overnight sleep. Similarly, in the plan of working three days a week, people have shorter intermittent between two days, therefore, they can work more smoothly from the work they have done yesterday. Consequently, they can concentrate more on the work but not on the repeat effort that is needed to associate their works from yesterday to current work. As a result, workers will enjoy the sense of success from the efficiency.

To sum up, from the analysis above, I maintain that working three days a weeks is a more effective way to increase the happiness of workers.