The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo written by the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock claims that they should decrease the use of Endure manufacturing process, which makes their products more durable. The author provides two evidences to support the argument. First, the study shows that their customers purchases new socks every three months. And, the survey shows their customers prefer stylish colors. However, these evidences cannot guarantee the validity of the claim. More evidences are needed to substantiate the argument.

First, we need to know do the customers will discard the old socks to buy new socks every three months. The fact that their customers buy new socks every three months doesn’t mean they don’t use their old socks anymore. It is possible that they wear both old socks and new socks after the purchasing. In this sense, the durability of the socks sell by the company still affect customers’ user experiences. That is, if their old socks are not durable, they will lose the trust of the company and turn to other companies for buying their socks. Hence, only after we clarify this aspect, can we make the decisive judgement.

Second, it is necessary to clarify that do their customer care about the style more than durability of the socks. Although the study evince that customers value most the appearance of socks, it doesn’t mean they will put this feature before durability. If the customers found their socks not durable anymore, they may turn to other company to buy socks so decreasing the profits of Dura-Sock company. Therefore, it is risky to abandon the Endure manufacturing process hastily without elucidate this point.

Finally, we need to evaluate the cost of making socks more stylish. Even though shutting down the Endure manufacturing process to making socks more stylish will attract more customer, it is unjustifiably to assert that the increase sales will be enough to compensate the accumulating cost bringing from the extra expenditure for stylish appearance of socks. In short, the cost that invests on the new technology outweighs the benefits, the company will still fail to increase their overall profits.

To sum up, extra evidences are needed to be evaluated: what is customer’s user habit of the socks, what is customer’s preference between durability and stylish appearance, and what is the extra cost to change the sock’s process? Only by clarifying these point, the president of Dura-Sock can make a correct judgement.