Some educational system emphasize the development of students’ capacity for reasoning and logical thinking, but students would benefit more from an education that also taught them to explore their own emotions.

Is it is more beneficial for students to be educated to pursue their personal thought and emotion despite the current educational system focus on the reasoning and logical abilities? In my view, this question has two aspects, both of these two sides have its own significance, thus I think educators should balance it instead of depending on one side.

It is understandable for educators to concentrate on developing the logical thinking for students. First, by possessing logical thought, it is more achievable for complete a project. Considering that you are an engineer designing a building, you need to deliberate on many detail: the appearance and the structure of the building, the material that use to construct, and so on. Having a logical thinking makes the engineer can preclude the quixotic and impossible layout. For example, the shape of the building that is innovative and fascinating may be fragile in its mechanical structure thus easy to be damage or risking it in collapsing. If future engineers now are students are trained with logical thinking, they can prevent many mistakes and increase their possible of success.

Second, another reason to develop student with capacity of reasoning and logical thinking is helping them orient in future labor markets. There is no doubt that modern society has rife with technology a manifestation of logic. The internet service is base on algorithms and computer systems; factories in industries have already adapted robot and automatic machines in their manufacturing line. To operate or work in these areas require logic thought. Without it, workers will even confuse about the way the machine work, not to mention operating and improving these machines that companies require them to do.

However, despite the crucial part of logical thinking, we cannot ignore the benefit sometime brought by mistake or accident. The CMB (cosmo microwave background) is a radiation from the outer space, which can help us understand the history and the succession of the universe. It is an important exploration in the science of universe. This signal is initially sense by the economical engineer in the communication company by accident. At first, they thought it is a noise from other sources but when they sent this data to other experts, CMB was finally be discovered. If these people just act like a machine, logically think the abnormal signal is noise and, like a machine, discard it and filter it out. Human beings will lose a change to discover this extraordinary phenomena.

Also, many areas are depending on not just logical thinking. Arts and music provide us with a lot of examples. Musicians convert their inner emotions into a wide range of marvelous music; artists largely depend on the vagary or the illogical thought to be inspired for their spectacular paintings, sculptures, or plays. Therefore, students who are taught to follow their inner emotions and mind also benefit from achieving these artistic properties. For our civilization, these things have equal importance with machines, engineering, or those practical stuff.

In sum, for a sound education system, it need to balance on two side: the practical side and the emotional side. Both of them are necessity in human society.