Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Is the success of whole society more important than the well-being of individuals? This question is fiercely debated by many people. Some people claim that a thriving society is the final goal of its citizens while others assert that well-being of the citizens is the foundation of a country. In my view, these two things are interdependent with each other.

From the view of the big picture, it is obvious to say that the importance of thriving society precedes individuals. After all, forming a society is one of the essential value in human civilization: by cooperating with other people, and sometime sacrifice our own advantages, human can accomplish the tasks that are not possible to be achieved by solitary creatures. In ancient time, for example, people spurned the prejudice and animosity to formed the tribe to fight for the harsh environment by sharing the food and skills with each other, and thrive from the stability they established. In modern society, only by the coordinating power of the government, we can achieve unprecedented goals that are unfathomable before: from building large-scale infrastructure to exploring the outer space. Thus, it is the whole society, not the individuals that advances our civilization.

However, citizens are the essential component of a successful society. In this sense, the happiness and welfare of people is the impetus of thriving society. On one hand, only by satisfying the needs of people, can they accomplish their own responsibilities properly and correctly. To illustrate, humans are made by flesh, we need food, time for respite, proper entertainments, and a sound social welfare system. After these preconditions are satisfied, people can exert their effort to work for their higher goal such as producing product, utilizing the creativity to make our society better. By contrast, if people live in the status of poverty, they are unable to fulfill their basic needs not to mention achieving those “high” purposes.

Furthermore, overly concentrating on the whole society but ignore the well-being of people also results in a range of problems which not a good indicator for a successful society. For example, high working hour may spur the competitiveness of a country since it boost the productivity of a country or a company in a short time; by imposting high tax on people, governments can receive more fund to facilitate the development of infrastructure. Nevertheless, in the long term, high working hour may cause low birth rate and higher health risk, which are detrimental for the whole country. And, high tax, may inflame the malcontent to the government and therefore result in riot or revolution as we can see the stamp duty inflamed the revolution in the American. These are all the ramifications of unconscionably focusing on the success of the society, which doesn’t ensure the long-term success of a country.

In sum, the citizens are the cornerstone of a society, the well-being will directly or indirectly influence the success the society; on the other hand, the thriving of a society is the only way to make ta breakthrough and advancement for the whole human beings. Therefore, we need to balance on both to them.