Most people choose a career on the basis of such pragmatic considerations as the needs of the economy, the relative ease of finding a job, and the salary they can expect to make. Hardly anyone is free to choose a career based on his or her natural talents or interest in a particular work.

The speaker claims that owing to economic pressure, people are hardly free to follow their own talents and will but choose their job from pragmatic concern. Admittedly, sometimes people who are not born in wealth-dividend, are struggling for their sustenance so yielding to pragmatism. However, with the advance of society, nowadays people have more chances to pursue their will in their lives.

I concede that, from history, people usually succumb to the pressure of their living and therefore turn to find a job that can sustain their living. After all, we are living creatures: we need food to replenish the energy we consumed; we need various commodities to maintain our everyday life. All these material things need money. Compared to pursing the goal that fits your interest, having a stable job is sometimes indispensable. Take the famous scientist, Einstein, as an example. Before he won the prestige in the field of academics, he worked in a patent office for his livelihood. Although the task may be boring and routine, it is a practical choice that provided Einstein with the ability to sustain himself.

However, with the development of society, nowadays this world affords us more opportunities to chasing the goal that meets our interest and talent without sacrificing the livelihood. At school, there are various scholarship and financial support can be applied by talented students. No matter a student is adept in mathematic, science, or art, there is plenty of corresponding resources that can help them. In society, in contrast to those impecunious artists in the past, people who are skillful in the art field have more resources to promote their works. The Internet helps them promote their works on a global scale. Thus, more people can appreciate their works and support them. Considering that, if Van Gogh lives in modern society, the mishap: the only one paint was sold in his life, may not happen by virtue of the influence of the broad-covered media today.

Another reason that people today have more opportunities in choosing their job matching their interests and talents is that modern society is a society of cooperation. In detail, today’s society needs talented people in specific areas but not people who know everything. In ancient time, every family to contribute to the work directly to their livings, such as hunting or farming. By contrast, in modern society, people are work together in a cooperative way. Some people work in the food industry, some contribute themselves to constructing buildings while some people are in charge to entertain the public on media. As a result, humans don't need to perform routine work for a living. Instead, people who possess different skills are more valuable. In this sense, people have more chances and even be a necessity to develop their personal and unique skills.

In sum, in modern society, human beings have more opportunities to work in the fields that we are interested in or talented. It largely comes from the transition of the mode of our lives and also the plenty of resources nowadays provide to us.