In any realm of life—whether academic, social, business, or political—the only way to succeed is to take a practical, rather than an idealistic, point of view. Pragmatic behavior guarantees survival, whereas idealistic views tend to be supersede by simpler, more immediate options.

The speaker claims that in actual life, in any area, the only way to success is to pursue pragmatism but not point of view for the reason that practical actions ensure survival. In my view, although I agree that practicing practical things has higher probability to success, it is overly extreme to assert that it is the only way to achieve successfulness.

To begin with, in the realm of academy, the benefit of pursuing pragmatism is obvious: not only researchers can obtain more resources in their project but also students will reach more prospective future. Considering research subjects between computer science and astronomy where the previous one is practical while the latter one is idealistic. Undoubtedly, there are more application in the area of computer science, from our daily life to industrial level. Consequently, students who take courses in the computer science have more job opportunities and fields that they can adapt into, therefore provide them higher chance to success. For researchers there are similarly easier to be successful because there are more funding resources from the rife of industries which need applying their fruitful result of research.

In the realm of politics, pragmatism also helps politician to success in the election campaign. After all, the satisfactory of constituents will directly reflect on the result of campaign and, at the same time, the material things are more easier to be perceived by constituents. Accordingly, politicians who present more substantial plans to the people and practice practical measure in the country are easier to win the election. For example, the propaganda of politician usually contain plans like building the market place to boost the economic or increase the amount of welfare in the city, which are more practical and palpable for citizens. Also, when tackling with the financial crisis, politician tend to apply practical measure such as appropriate subsidy to the citizens but not think about other idealistic measure like revolutionize the financial system. In short, the direction of politic usually pursue pragmatism to secure their achievements in their political lives.

However, it is unjustifiable to claim that pursuing idealistic things will always fail. First, in the academic field, many things that used to be deemed as impractical actually help scientists advance in their areas. Consider the mathematic, at first glance, it just a game that manipulates numbers and it only belong to the realm of fantasy of mathematics. Yet we now know they are applied to several practical areas, guiding people no matter in various fields. The ideas in the geometry such as calculus in higher dimension, are utilized to describe the gravitational phenomena in Einstein’s general relativity; the theories in topology assist people studying in biology to solve the problem regarded to DNA as well as people researching in computer science to solve specific problems.

Furthermore, in the politic, it is the idealistic, not the pragmatic, thought boost the real development in human society. To illustrate, revolution is an act which is not practical, since it sacrifice a range of things: lives, stability, and cause a lot of destruction, but having little probability to success. Nevertheless, if our founding father, Sun Yat-Sen, not held the revolution to overwhelm Chin dynastic, today Chinese people will still be reined under regime of autocracy and may never experience the life of freedom. Or, regarding to the issue of global warming, if today’s leaders merely focus on superficial pragmatism which continuously runs the factories for the short-term economical benefits, the catastrophe of erratic climate may subvert our civilization. Sometimes, only ideal thought can radically transfer our world into better one.

To sum up, in general, focusing on pragmatic things provides people with simple route to success. However, it is by no mean to assert it is the only way to reach successfulness. As I mentioned above, in the history, it is the idealistic ideas helps people to solve profound issues and transmute the society.