The purpose of education should be provide students with a value system, a standard, a set of ideas—not to prepare them for specific job.

The speaker claims that the goal of education is to provide students with a value system, a standard, and a set of idea, but not preparing them for jobs. In my view, the scope of the speaker is too narrow, as far as an educator’s concern, there are other aspect of purposes that a sound educational system need to achieve.

To begin with, I concede that one of the purpose of education is to teach people, including scientific theory as well as a range of ideas in different fields. We born as a baby, without any knowledge pre-established, therefore, an educator acts as a crucial role to enlighten use. Teachers at school help us learn and assimilate knowledge that rarifies thousands years of wisdom of human beings, by systematic and efficient way. These things seem unrelated to preparing people for future jobs.

However, at the same time of learning things, we have stepped out our first step to fit ourselves into future jobs. Teachers not only indoctrinate people with sophistication but propagate the value system that helps people fit themselves into the mainstream society. For example, at the elementary school, we learn proper manners from teachers and, from the interaction with siblings, we know how to politically cooperate or against to others. These things are indispensable possessions that adapt us into labor markets or cooperating with other people to accomplish a job.

Furthermore, despite the impalpable knowledge sets, some school even designed for training people for jog. The vocational school, which train people with practical skills, is one of example that mainly focus on preparing students for specific job. Students in the school will do the hands-on learning. The department of electronic engineering in vocational school tell students how to assembles electronic devices such as computers or robots. In the department of architecture, students will be trained how to sketch a blueprint for a building as well as some skills to construct a house. The main purpose of learning these things is well-prepare students themselves into specific job but not for theoretical things.

To sum up, the goal of education is not only restricted in providing general and theoretical things as the speaker mentioned, although it is one of important things. More often than not, it helps us develop skills and manners that is necessary in the society and labor markets.