The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that it has become a more important form of documentation than written record.

With the advance of the technology, the ability of video cameras is improving and winning the popularity: from the low resolution when the video camera just come into light, nowadays it can record the things around us with great clarity. From this, the speaker claims that the video camera has become a more important mean for documenting and recording. In my view, I agree with that the video camera is a necessary equipment in modern life, however, there are still some areas that it cannot eclipse the traditional writing record.

I concede that the video camera has some unparalleled attributes compared to written record. First, it vividly record every moment of an event without ignoring or abridging any detail. The video recording can recover the scene of the specific period, such as the behaviors of people in the scene and the other detail like the shape, darkness, color of the ambience. By contrast, the paper record inescapably would loose some details since its contents are from one’s fracture memory. Second, its trustability is undeniable. Video records are consisted by continuous frames so it can faithfully register every moment of the period. On the contrary, paper records may be falsified by the writer, no matter it is deliberate or unintentional.

However, despite the advantages I mentioned above, there are other aspects makes paper record unique. The most obvious thing is that emotional feeling can be represented on the paper record. Considering the different between a movie and a novel. By reading a novel, the reader can delve deeply into the inner mind of the protagonist; from the power of the words, we can feel the anger, happiness, mournful, and the subtle transition between them. Although one may say that we can feel the mood of the actors in the video record, the small differences happen inside their mind are unable to be fetched only by looking it.

Another limit of video records is that it needs extra facilities to access, whereas that stuff is not necessary to read paper records. To illustrate, if a hiker is stock in a mountain without any electricity supply; in this circumstance those video records to guide him to find the route in the mountain are futile, instead, the paper records like the description of the route or a drawing map can be his salvation. Or consider that a teacher want to educate children in peripheral areas, where lack of infrastructure and technological devices, then the paper records are the teachers only choice.

To sum up, although it is undeniable that video records are becoming popular and more widespread, it didn’t indicate it will ultimately become more important than written records. In my view, two kinds of recording ways have their own benefit and they can complement with each other.