It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public.

There is a heated debate among the people that whether it is necessary for politicians to conceal information from the public. In the prevailing value of the society, integrity is definitely an important property of a person; however, once the scope is extended to the politician who is in charge of the future of a country, I agree that appropriate level of hiding information is acceptable and necessary.

I concede that an insidious purpose of withholding information is by no mean justifiable. It brings the corruption to the government and undermine democracy. Once information is block from accessing by the public, political leaders are able to utilize their power to benefits themselves or even their friends. For example, without superintending by the public, a politic in the higher position can exploit his power and relationship to intervene in the hiring procedure of the government facility. As a result, a country’s democracy would be eclipsed by the cronyism and unbreakable hierarchy.

However, other than these sordid aspects of withholding information, I assert that some strategic ways to withhold the information are acceptable and necessary. Firstly, in order to realize their aspirations, politicians need to win the campaign and get the power of running a government first. To achieve it, politician may hide some minor disadvantages or foibles in their lives. After all, who did not make minor mistakes, such as what Washington did in his childhood, cutting father’s cherry tree, in their whole lives. Once these foibles are known by their rivals, they may magnify or even distort it to drag them down. Think about that, if a politician with enough ability and talent can prosper a country in the future but fail to achieve it just because it is ruined by unjustifiable rumors from their opponents. How miserable it can be for a country?

Moreover, other compelling examples to support politicians can withhold information come from the purpose of protecting the advantages of whole country. For one thing, most of countries have their well-established laws to protect their sensitive information from spreading. To illustrate, a country’s data related to military is mostly contained know from few people. The cutting-edge research projects are restricted to trade with others. Once this crucial information is acquired by ulterior people, it will vitiate the country’s security or competitiveness. Similarly, politician may personally hold some sensitive information, which need to be controlled properly to ensure whole country’s stability. In the time of disease’s pandemic, many unsubstantiated or even fake information influx into the government. The head of the government need to withhold, filter or control this information to prevent the people of the country from turmoil or panic.

To sum up, regardless a self-conserving or evil purpose, it is necessary and justifiable for a politician to withhold specific information. For a leader of a country, we need to focus on their ultimate goal, that is, whether the action that he or she do is actually benefit the country as a whole, rather than the superficial sneaky aspect of the action.