The function of science is to reassure; the purpose of art is to upset. Therein lies the value of each.

The author claims functions and purpose based on the art and science, which are reassurance and subversion. In my view, these claims are somewhat represent the spirits of them, however, they are too dogmatic and narrow that overlooks other aspects of the science and the art.

As far as I am concerned, the science serves as several function from prediction through control then end up with improvement. The claim of the author, namely, to reassure human beings is merely a portion of it. With the accumulating knowledge of science, it first provides humans with the ability of prediction. For example, in the past, weather and climate are deemed as preternatural power that is beyond the knowledge of human being; ancient people were afraid of it due to the ignorance. With the advance of the science discipline, humans now have been reassured by it due to the predicability of weather.

However, the functions of science far beyond the realm of predicability. Today, by virtue of the sophistication of weather, we can, to some extent, control the weather in local region and improve our quality of life. For example, we now know the rain is result from accumulative droplet of water, by spreading the tiny particle through the air, we can make artificial rain to assuage the aridity of certain areas.

Accordingly, subversion is just a property of arts. The purpose of art can be attributed to entertain, please, and enlighten people. Undeniably, by subverting the thoughts and prospects, people can be amused by the feeling of contradiction between their senses and the content of arts. For example, when I first looked at the painting of Van Gogh, I am amazed by the unique strokes presenting the flow of light, which provide me a new aspect to appreciate the beauty of nature.

Nevertheless, the arts can serve as different purposes, far more than subversion. Art can please people; whenever you feel sorrow or pain, a lyrical music always can be a balm to cheer you up or ameliorate your unfavorable moods. The literature can enlighten public; by virtue of novels or essays people can acquire knowledge and fulfill their lives. Also, from the inspiration of art work, people can conjure up new ideas, which act as a power for our society to innovate and growth.

To sum up, although reassurance and subversion are important aspects of science and art, asserting they are the only value of the science and the arts is inappropriate. There are many different values underlying the science and arts.