The function of Science is to reassure; the purpose of art is to upset. Therein lies the value of each

The society we live in today, stands on the foundation of both art and science. It is impossible to imagine a world without the two. The claim made by the prompt is seems to be based on naïve assumptions and a premature conclusion. It arrives at an inept conclusion without considering the holistic view. I am completely against the notion stated in the prompt.

First, one needs to understand, science and art go hand in hand. Science around us in itself is a piece of art and the art is in some way dependent on science. Both of them complement each other. For example, Leonardo the Vinci, the prowess painter of his times, is renowned for his painting the “Monalisa”. However, a lesser-known fact about him is that, even before wright brothers, he was the one who had proposed the design for flight. Citing this specific example, it is quite eccentric to think art as something which is intended to upset.

Second, it is not always true that Science has always worked on the favour of the world. Science is as good as its intention. On one hand science can be treated as a panacea, while on the other it could be used to build machines of mass destruction. To illustrate this fact further, consider the blasts on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. God forbidden; such a situation should never arise in the future. There are no accurate stats on how many lives were lost. The devastation continues till date in some form or the other. Father of the atomic Bomb, Dr. Alfred Noble cursed himself for his invention. After taking this incident into account, how can we classify science as the protagonist of the story?

Third, it is simply erroneous to neglect the contribution of art till date and term it as a downgrade. Today art plays a major role in blending the most vivid and diverse characters in society smoothly. Not just today, but this has been continuing since centuries. While India was under the British tyranny, there came a time when the freedom fighters came to a dead end to promulgate the independence movement further. This was where they used art in the form of theatres and dramas to communicate their message to the masses. It proved one of the most effective ways to persuade people to join the freedom struggle. Even today, we have memes and cartoons that convey a lot more than an editorial article would do. Considering this point, it is irrelevant to say that the role of art is to upset.

From a holistic approach, it can be concluded that, the prompt has drawn a premature conclusion based on broad generalization and it fails to establish the claim. As observed from the mentioned illustrations, even Science has a darker side and art has the ability to do wonders. Thus we can’t warrant science as a reassurer and art as an up-setter.