The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

The diverse culture what we see today, in different parts of the world is the result of constant evolution and progress. Any contemporary culture, prevalent today, is the result of constant criticism, scrutiny and the need to be updated with time. The word contemporary itself means modern, and if not anything it is free of anachronistic notions. Talking about modernity, who better than the newest generation could be reflective of the same. I think, its indeed an effective way to analyze the youth tradition to gain insights upon the contemporary culture.

To illustrate the aforesaid notion, let’s dive down to a few infamous chapters of history. Back in the 14th century, there was a tradition called as Sati. Prevalent in the Hindus, it compelled a widow to sacrifice herself, sitting atop her husband’s funeral. It was a hideous tradition. A young man and a freedom fighter, Raja Ram Mohan Roy was the first to question this. His contribution to women’s empowerment led to the abolishment of the Sati System. This inspired several others in the country, and people joined hands to promote women rights. This segment mostly comprised of the youth, which was now cognizant and was no more a blind slave to illogical practices in the name of culture and tradition. A new trend, to treat women has equals, had begun and eventually evolved to what we term as feminism today.

Coming to the present scenario, the culture across diverse fields have flourished immensely with time. With a lot of innovation and creativity, the previously extant rules and definitions have been supplanted by a more modern approach. For instance, consider the Indian cricket Team. Today, it is considered one of the fittest teams in international cricket, however things were not the same previously. Indeed, there were veterans and connoisseurs, however, they lacked one of the most important requirements of the game, “fitness”. It was the young team, and players like Virat Kohli, who changed the notion. Introduction of onerous Yo-yo tests have completely redefined fitness in the Indian cricket team. The game has changed today, and with introduction of shorter formats like T-20, demand more fitness. Perhaps, refuting the pre-existing practices to underscore fitness was one of the most crucial decision in Indian cricketing history. Today, Virat Kohli serves as the epitome of fitness amongst the Indian youth.

One thing can be surely said about the young generation today, they are unorthodox. They do not want to circumscribe themselves in the insular thought process. Indeed, they are iconoclasts and free from the any shackles. The more one tries to contain them, the stronger they come out. This quality has helped a lot in defining the contemporary culture. To cite a personal example, my entire education was based in an orthodox day boarding school. The school only focused in studies and instilled us that, involving in any extra-curricular activities is detrimental to your carrier. I wrote many letters and applications to the school management to change this, and even got suspended a couple of times. However, within a span of 3 years, the management was finally convinced and in fact promoted students to come out of text books. The trend continues till today, and the school boasts itself of winning various state and national level championships.

To sum it up, it can be concluded that, any existing temporal field, has witnessed a great impact of the youth, and can indeed the youth is the pivotal point to understand the contemporary culture.