The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

A parent of student studying in Kenisington academy claims that the noble intent of bringing in Swift nutrition to cater healthy food options to students is not at place, and if it is not replaced soon, children would be prone to severe health consequences. This argument is based on a few students’ opinion and lacks substantial evidence to present a holistic view on how the food options are not salubrious.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the dissatisfied students are completely credible. The parent arrives at a direct conclusion based on opinion of his ward and his few classmates. It could be the case, that these comprise of the minority that do not like the food, while majority of the students face no problem at all.

Secondly, the parent claims that, the low fat and low-calorie meals are not enjoyable. This statement seems quite over-stretched and egregiously flawed. There is no evidence to support the how the food is not enjoyable. Taste is completely subjective and it is too naïve of the parent to make this generalization. Instead, most health conscious and fitness freaks suggest a meal with nadir fat levels.

Thirdly, the parent readily assumes that, all the students would be bringing unhealthy food in their tiffin if they are not satisfied by swift. The statement has no credible evidence to depict this fact. Based on his son, he is considering, every other student would follow the same steps. For instance, there could be students who are much more

health conscious and would love to bring healthy meals. If this is the case then the argument is rendered baseless.

Although, the argument is insufficiently substantiated in many ways but there is a scope of improvement. The parent could state relevant stats and numbers to prove the unworthiness of Swift nutrition. He could have stated 80% of the students in the class are dissatisfied with Swift nutrition and want a change in the vendor. Further, if he could clarify, how the low fat and low-meals are not enjoyable, the claim could be better proven. Similarly, the assumption that most students would be forced to bring unhealthy foods could have been relied on a better foundation supported by real time experiences and instances.

In conclusion, the argument is based on claims and assumptions that are irrational and need strong evidence to support them. There are various questions that these claims raise and attenuates the author’s position even further. The argument is inadequately supported and lacks a proper rational. Without further investigation and additional information, the author’s state remains tenuous and open to debate.