Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Whether the governments should offer a free education to even those who can’t afford it, could be a contentious issue. However, I feel education should be a fundamental right and one must not be abstained from exercising it. The government should definitely offer its aid to the unprivileged students, even if is unaffordable for them.

Firstly, I think, a student is the foundation for the development of any nation. If we invest in his education, we never know, what he becomes tomorrow. He could be a scientist, sending satellites into space or an athlete bringing gold for the country. For instance, the late Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, famously called as the missile man of India, was an impoverished child. He was a son of a mediocre fisherman. During that time, there was no such scheme as free education. Despite this fact, he toiled hard, and eventually became the President of India. Dr. Kalam is not the only such precocious talent, in-fact there are plenty, just wanting in monetary matters. Had there been a scheme to provide free education, such dexterous talents could be easily discovered and utilised for the well-being of the country.

Secondly, education, provided in any form, shapes the inchoate mind of a student. A child’s mind is too amenable. It is as good as its architect. If put to wrong hands, could lead to egregious outcomes. Terrorism is the result of the same. Every year thousands of innocents are trained to kill, fight and perform all the unscrupulous deeds. The ones who enrol for these activities can’t be put to blame. Hapless and poverty stricken, they don’t have access to any worldly knowledge. Due to lack of formal education, the innate conscience which we are able to develop, is simply absent in them. Be it the horrific attacks of 26/11, Mumbai or the heinous attack on World Trade centre, ultimately tracks down to dearth of education.

Thirdly, if observed from a holistic point of view, one could infer, the root of all the problems is illiteracy. If not resources, problems are something that are copious in the world. For instance, today, a country is faced with a problem of diminishing natural resources. This has been engendered by a population burst. Further, the prime reason for population burst can be linked to the subject of illiteracy. A survey conducted in India, in 2011, states that, 30 percent of the population have kids just to support the family financially, by performing menial jobs. Imagine, if a formal free of cost schooling is made mandatory, it would have a great impact on the parochial mindset of the people. The point to be made here is that, the government could use this policy as a panacea for all the underlying problems up to a massive extent.

Although, at first, such a policy might appear good on paper, and pragmatically hard to implement, but for the greater good, it is something that needs to be done on a priority basis. To conclude, in my opinion, I feel the most powerful tool in the world if exists is anything but knowledge, and to put it to a greater good, the government must offer a free education.