Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

It’s a famous quote that people are more afraid of the things that they can’t see compared to what lies in front of them. Following the ideology of this quote, many people opine that instead of focussing on present issues and ordeals, the government must solve problems that haven’t even arrived and lay plans for the same. However, if you ask me I would any day choose present over the future.

Present has two meanings, the present tense and a gift. I really think every day we receive the present of present, and we must toil hard to make use of it. Future lies on foundation of today and we would reap what we have sown. Similarly, if the government of a country is focussed on resolving the ongoing predicaments and crisis, definitely in the near future, its citizens are going to enjoy the fruitful results.

To elucidate the stance better consider a country like India. With more than a hundred and thirty-five crore population, it ranks the 2nd most populous country in the world. Difficult times are not something new to this country. Since Independence, many governments have governed the function of this beautiful country, and yet none has compromised the present to the future. For instance, the first prime minister of the country, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, had a vision of making India a global Market. However, he knew this would affect the living of millions of artisans and vendors, who simply did not had resources to compete with the international market. He did introduce the policy of globalization, which was of much importance for the country but only after he realised, the local market has stood up on his own feet and ready to compete.

Recently there have been instances that prove, compromising the present to achieve future goals could lead to acrimonious repercussions. On 8th November 2016, the government of India suddenly decided to ban the old currency notes with the noble intent to culminate black money. Despite such a good will, the policy failed to take off with full force and effect. The demonetization policy aimed at scotching the black market however, it did not take into consideration, the current scenario in the country. There was no proper plan on how the new currency notes would be injected into the system and how the insolvency arising in the market could be tackled. The population indigenous to the most interior parts of the country suffered the most. Already, these people are devoid of cash, and now with the banning of old notes they faced a huge conundrum. The policy is still a highly contentious and debatable subject and the opposition till today attacks the government over it.

Although I agree, we can’t leave the future in the dark. There must be some plan for the future. Yes, the answer to that is sustainable development and thinking. It says that “you must have resources for the future but not at the cost of devoiding the present with it”. I firmly believe, the need of the hour is to incorporate the thought with the governance ideologies.