The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority?
Society, where many people live together. In order to maintain the fabric of society it is often
recommended that the residents of the society need to be outspoken and should counter the
government officials. I agree with the aforesaid statement and believe that more the societies
engage with the authorities the more it prospers, which will be discussed in the essay.
The authority is a responsible institute for the betterment of the society and is also responsible for
any mischiefs happen. Hence, the role of authority is to maintain the proper functioning of the area
as well as facilitating it with proper infrastructure and security. This marks how imperative are these
government officials for the wellbeing of people. Therefore, it is pivotal to examine the functioning
of this institute as these official holds great power and money which they are supposed to utilize in
favour of the citizen however, if they misuse the power, it may have detrimental impact on the
society. For instance, the police authority instead of guarding the rules and maintaining the law they
might become victim of corruption and deviate from the duty hence, in such case powerful residents
of the society undermined the weaker sections of the society which is menacing for the fabric of
society. Therefore, these officials need to be questioned publicly for their every action which will
definitely put a strict watch on the activities of these officials and compelled them to adhere rightful
duty.
The cross-questioning and rigorously asking the questions to responsible authority is not only
beneficial for the society but for the authority also. To put it in another way, consider an example of
Palampur village, where people were facing commuting problem and wanted the officials to widen
the width of the road in order to curtail the traffic congestion while, the authority was not in a
situation to execute this plan because of renumeration shortage hence, when questioned by the
society about the hinderance in the project, officials informed them about money shortage and
therefore, villagers collected the required amount which mitigated the remuneration problem and
the construction project was executed. This questioning method was helpful for both parties hence,
it should be practised by all the society in order to know the shortcomings and need to sort it out
with collective effort.
The questioning helps the society in understanding the functioning of the government institution
and make them well informed about each institution duty which indirectly benefits the residents of
the society. In other words, when society question about the government working either by publicly
posting the query on government website or by filling the form of Right to Information, they are
informed about the limitations and responsibility of the particular authority. For instance, a decade
ago, policemen of the small district called Gazipur used to penalized the rider by demanding 50rs
cash though, the amount was penury but, in the end, they would collect handsome amount. One
day, a rider filled the ROI form and questioned the senior authority about the penalized rule and that
particular day the people got to know that there was not any provision to penalized defaulter by
asking cash rather they should be given warning. Hence, asking the authority enhance the
bureaucratic knowledge and eventually benefits the society.
In conclusion, it is evident for the citizen to collectively involve in the functioning of the government
authority as they are for the betterment of the society.