The function of science is to reassure; the purpose of art is to upset. Therein lies the value of each.

Science, itself, is the greatest discovery man has made. It is a boon to our lives. Science and technology have altered the way we live, connect and communicate with each other. But science has its own downplays as well. On the other hand, to claim that art can only upset is to portray a very narrow approach to this field. The author’s recommendation therefore cannot be entirely true.

Almost everything that we see around us is a gift of science. Starting from our smartphones, laptops, tablets, iPads, microwaves, air-conditioners, refrigerators, vehicles, electricity etc. is the invention of science. Science makes our day-to-day life easier and saves time and money. It is hard to decide which is the single most valuable discovery of science, from the Copernicum System, to the theory of relativity, to the discovery of DNA, antibiotics, to the internet. The contributions of science is vast. This is one side of science. But there are negative consequences too. These include discovery of nuclear weapons, atomic bombs, indiscriminate industrialization and urbanization and many more. It is both a boon and a bane to our lives.

Art, helps one to cultivate ones aesthetic sense, to have a discernible eye. Artists give soul to innate objects through their creativity. For example, a beautiful painting, movie, music, or dance can fill us with awe, admiration and uplift our emotional state. A person, after a hard day’s work could come home and relax while listening to Beethoven’s music or by attending a musical concert with his or her spouse. The flip side of art is when we get upset seeing a famous photo of a child suffering from malnutrition, or photos of Auschwitz.

In conclusion it can be summarized that it is true for every field, be it science or art, to have both negative and positive impacts on society. We cannot attribute absolute values to either one of them and praise one ignore its adverse impacts or viceversa.