A recent sales study indicated that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has
increased by 30 percent over the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants
that specialize in seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families,
and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than
they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about eating healthily. Therefore, a
new Bay City restaurant specializing in seafood will be quite popular and profitable.
The arguer has drawn the conclusion that establishing a new Bay City restaurant that specializes in
seafood would be both profitable as well as popular. The argument relies on two facts as evidence in
support of the claim made. The first is that the consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants
have increased over the past five years, but there are no restaurants in Bay City that specialize in
seafood. The second fact states that the majority of the families in Bay City are two-income families
and the results of a nationwide survey have indicated that two-income families are increasingly
concerned about healthy eating habits and they are eating fewer home-cooked meals. However, the
facts presented by the arguer are insufficient to prove that a new Bay City restaurant specializing in
seafood would be popular and profitable.
The fact that there are no seafood restaurants in Bay City, despite the increase in the consumption of
seafood, does not necessarily mean that a restaurant specializing in seafood would be popular and
profitable. Firstly, the increase in consumption by thirty percent is insignificant in view of the fact that
this has happened over a period of five years. Moreover, if seafood was indeed so popular among the
residents of Bay City, then restaurants specializing in seafood would have come up by now.
Moreover, the restaurants that serve seafood dishes would have diversified into separate restaurants
for serving seafood dishes only, if there was a huge demand for the same. The very fact that these
restaurants are continuing to serve seafood dishes in addition to other dishes prove that these
restaurants are not making much profit from the consumption of seafood.
Additionally, it is likely that the increase in consumption is not only for seafood, but also for the other
dishes being served by popular restaurants. People may be going to these restaurants because they like
their preparation or the ambience. It is highly unlikely that they will stop going to their favorite
restaurants to dine at a new restaurant that serves only seafood. Therefore, the new restaurant will
have to compete with the other restaurants that are already popular in Bay City and which offer other
dishes in addition to seafood dishes. The new restaurant may not be able to make profit unless it is
able to build up a sizeable clientage, which seems unlikely in view of the above mentioned aspects
related to dining in Bay City restaurants.
The arguer fails to provide substantial evidence to prove the relevance of the nationwide survey in the
context of the two-income families residing in Bay City. There is no mention of the percentage of Bay
City families who were a part of this survey. It is likely that the survey included families residing in
big cities and metros and the type of lifestyle that they follow permits them to eat out regularly. It is
quite possible that the families in Bay City are not too keen on eating out as opposed to their
counterparts in bigger cities. Moreover, if the families are health conscious, then they would not like
to eat in a new restaurant as they would doubt the quality of food being served and they would rather
eat at the restaurants where they have been dining in the past. Therefore, the arguer fails to provide a
link between the nationwide survey and the dining habits of the two-income families of Bay City in
order to substantiate his recommendation.
The argument could have been strengthened if both the surveys had provided information related to
the willingness of the Bay City residents to eat seafood. Moreover, the profits earned by a restaurant
depend on the initial investments along with the expenses incurred in the maintenance of the
restaurant. The arguer does not provide information related to such data. Therefore, the argument fails
to convince the reader that a new Bay City restaurant specializing in seafood will be profitable and
popular.