"Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time."

The dictionary definitions of truth include: the state or quality of being true; that which is true or in accordance to fact or reality. Truth involves concepts like loyalty, fidelity, faithfulness, and veracity. Truths are based on facts that demystifies the unknown. Truths, however, are not easily accepted and hard to establish in society. Important truths have been considered outrageous and had to face enormous hostilities before it could create its own niche in the world.

The general public or even world leaders have been found to ignore the truths about our world only because it fulfils their vested interests. Also, certain truths interfere with their daily way of life, so people take the easier path of turning a blind eye to truths. The burning example of the previous sentence is the issue of climate change as a result of various human activities that the entire world is facing and also ignoring. Burning of fossil fuels to produce energy releases carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases that increase the temperature of the earth more than is normal. As a result of global warming, a number changes are occurring on earth like rising sea levels, floods, droughts, severe heat waves, melting of glaciers, warming of oceans and increase in their acidic levels. These are presenting challenges not only to humans but the entire ecosystem. Nonetheless, skepticism from key global figures motivated by national economic interests is slowing diplomatic efforts to systematically address the drivers of climate change. U.S President Donald Trump’s decision, in particular, to pull out of the Paris Climate agreement has not only undermined the pact but also has long term implications. It is encouraging other already disinterested countries like Russia, Saudi Arabia to back away from their commitments. Another example of aggression against truth is Brazil’s President, Jair Bolsonaro’s denial of responsibility for the purposeful burning of the Amazon Rainforest.

Another truth that still many sections of society squirms to accept is that homosexuality is a natural and biological orientation. The exploitation and marginalization of queer people by society has been going on for long. Gay marriages have still not been legalized in many countries including India.

It is important to remember that people are slaves to their habits. It is their natural disposition to believe what is suitable to their interests and reject what doesnot confirm to their beliefs. According to chemist and science writer Christine Herman, beliefs are also tied up with identities. “if changing your belief means changing your identity, it comes at the risk of rejection from the community of people with whom you share that identity.” Moreover, people want to prove themselves right. So accepting other’s truths are believed to be undermining their authority and honour.

However, it would be unfair to not consider the times when our society has shown flexibility and broad-mindedness. The new generation of people are more accommodating and inclined to scientific facts and truth. For instance, young people like, Greta Thunberg have turned into activists with their coordinated student walk-outs to demand action on climate change.

To sum it up, important truths will always face impediments. But as the saying goes that good things come at a price, similarly truth will have to face its own battle and emerge out victorious. Only then can a Nation march towards progress and true development with scientific spirit and rational thinking.