ISSUE TOPIC: The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

The author asserts that a popular musician's genuine talent can be truly appraised only after his death and after the passage of few generations. He claims that fame and popularity would interpose in the honest assessment of the musicians' both natural and achieved endowments. It is true that many gifted personalities have not been recognized for their eminent contributions to society and have been rewarded posthumously, however, the 'all-or-nothing stance that this recommendation takes regarding the assessment of musicians' talents is difficult to agree with.

In the first place, in today's unprecedentedly competitive world a musician builds his or her career with great endeavors. Unless a musician possesses true skills he or she will not come to the limelight only. For instance contemporary singers like Rihanna, Jennifer Lopez, Lady Gaga, Michael Jackson, Shreya Ghosal, Sunidhi Chauhan, Arijit Singh did not become popular in a day, month, or even a year. Instead, they had to face tough challenges at every step of their career and took years to prove their mettle in their lifetime.

In the second place, it is unwise to confuse an actor's fame and stardom that might depend on their admirable phenotype and a hint of luck, with that of a musician's struggles with their vocal chords. A musician can never become famous, unless his or her music appeals to our ears and stays in our hearts while they are still alive. For example, Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhonsle, have reached the summit of success in their lifetime and already possesses lifetime achievement awards.

Moreover, if the author's claim is true, then the musician would not witness the fruits of their efforts. This would be extremely unfair to these creative beings and they donot deserve this.

Therefore, it would be right to contend that talented musicians must be recognized and accoladed for their grit, determination, and hardworks in their lifetime. The author's claim of assessment after demise is unjust to the artists.