Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places

Laws are formal means of social control that keep a check on society’s deviations. They are supposed to minimise crime rates in any city. But a law must not remain the same and unamended for long. They must change with changing dynamics of our society. Therefore, I agree with the claim that laws should be flexible and take into account the various circumstances, times and places.

To begin with, society is not stagnant, thus the laws it formulates cannot be static either. Laws are meant to protect people and reign illegal dispositions of people. If laws do not accommodate within itself the changes of any society, then, it will have an adverse effect on people’s lives. They might even rob people of their basic, inalienable rights. For example, section 377 of the Indian Penal Code, had, for a very long time criminalised unnatural offences like sex against the order of nature between consenting adults, until recently, when it was scrapped on 6th September 2018 by the Supreme court. This law had unfairly treated many innocent people and made them criminals in the eyes of the law. This was a very repressive law for a lot of people who had no control over their sexual orientations. Other examples where laws had changed over time includes the achievement of universal female suffrage, distribution of family wealth among both male and female children of the family and others.

Moreover, if a law is inflexible, overtime it might take a draconian form. Such laws can also prove to be discriminating for a section of society and deprive them of their opportunities or even prove to be lethal. The incident that comes to mind in this context is the death of the pregnant lady on account of anti-abortion laws. The concerned hospital could not take any steps to curtail her pregnancy when faced with life-threatening complications that finally led to her demise, because of existing laws that criminalised abortion. Abortion had been seen as an act of sin since time immemorial. Overtime laws had been formulated to implement this formally and more strictly. However, this law has proved to be very oppressive as it tries to control women’s bodies and their choices, and in some cases their deaths.

Conversely, it can be pointed out that a certain amount of rigidity and austerity is needed as well in laws. Certain kinds of crimes are so heinous and appalling that the perpetrators of such crimes must not escape severe punishments on account of age, wealth and power. Murders and rapes committed by juveniles must not go unpunished. Indian Government, for example, punished the juvenile person involved in the rape and atrocious murder of Nirbhaya. More importantly, the law should punish all people, wealthy or poor, politician or common citizen in the same manner.

To sum it all, it can be said that laws are made for protecting the rights of the people. It keeps equilibrium and order in society. Laws put a check on the criminal tendencies of people. But laws, also need to grow and evolve and run along with the pace of society. They cannot be so unbending as to adversely affect people’s lives. On the other hand, if it is exercising rigidity then it should do that for all without ant any discrimination based on age, sex, wealth, power, caste or religion.