Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places.

The statement says that- laws should be made flexible to vary according to specific circumstances, times and places. I completely agree with the idea of the statement. Allowing the rules to dependant on the situations can actually bring positive changes to the society.

In the current world, the laws under any government plays major role in establishing a sober society. The law suit plays important role in keeping people believe in virtues like honesty and sincerity. Without tight laws, the society would slip to the wrong path and crime rate will increase dramatically.

First of all, the laws can be said as a set well defined instructions, essential to keep things work flawlessly. But even if the laws are too straight and simple, they may not serve to judge everything. The justice should not always depend only on written laws, but also take an account of under situations the problem has occurred.

Secondly, the goal of the standard governance should be to protect even a single innocuous citizen; no matter how many culprits get vindicated. To, fulfill this criterion, the laws need be flexible. Keeping them variable according to the particular situations would help to make sound judgment.

Thirdly, let's take an example. We, often find the cases where people attack the sinister in terms of self defense. If we stick to the orthodox laws, such cases should be punished. However, as a sophisticated human being we can understand the circumstances, under which even an innocent and calm person will tend to fight for his/her life and protection of his/her family. If, the laws are flexible enough, they will help such people to gain proper justice.

However, making rules vary according to circumstances is not a lucid thing as it sounds. The practical implementation of the idea can be really complex. Government would face a lot of difficulties and many further issues would rise. The biggest problem is that who will decide that what circumstances to be accounted while implementing a particular rule. The definition of law might no longer be easy to understand. It will require a lot of efforts before really jump to the execution.

In sum, I believe having flexible laws are essential for sound and sober governance. The flexibility however, needs to be defined by any judicious group and needs to be updated time by time. Such steps will not only help in providing better judgments but also help in establishing standard law practice in society.