LAWS SHOULD BE FLEXIBLE ENOUGH TO TAKE ACCOUNT OF VARIOUS CIRCUMSTANCES, TIMES AND PLACES.

Formation of law is very complex and requires vigorous practice of law. As formation of law is as cardinal as formation of government because laws are formed by the authoritative body to be enforced on the country taking in view of the citizens. The statement suggests that law should be flexible and enforced as per the different circumstances. To which in my perception I mostly agree because Laws should be flexible as per the circumstances to which I corroborate with following reasons.

First of all, as the formation of law depends upon the location/places as it varies to which lets take an example, as Gujarat being state of India is restricted to legal sales of alcohol as compared to other states which are not under any kind of restrictions. And the reason behind alcohol restriction in Gujarat is that it is the land from which the great leader mahatma Gandhi hails and in his reverences the state government has restricted sales of alcohol and it is illegitimate to possess alcohol in the state of Gujarat and strict rules are formed to enforce this law.

Furthermore, in india the recovery of taxes on different consumer goods is different as per different states which is enforced by the state government with legal allowance from the central government. For example, tax on sales of alcohol in state of Maharashtra and Karnataka are highest which varies from 6-7% depending upon the alcohol content or type of liquor. In against there is no tax recovery on alcohol sales in union territories of India like Goa, daman & Diu etc because the union territories are directly ruled under union/central government and the state taxes are exempted in union territories and central government gives many advantages in sales of alcohol in union territories so the taxes on sales of alcohol is zero.

In concession let’s consider laws which are enforced all over the country without any discrimination of states or level of government(central/state) and are applicable to every citizens of the country. For example, the recent amendment in law of abrogation of article 370 from state of Jammu and Kashmir. Before which no citizen of the country could migrate to Kashmir or buy a piece of land in Kashmir which is now changed and the state of Jammu and Kashmir is formed as an 2 different union territories directly ruled by the central government without any special status and in which every citizen can migrate or buy a piece of land.

So to conclude, the laws are and should be flexible as per the circumstances and places which ensures proper enforcement and justifies the law to the citizens on whom it is to be enforced.