The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls argues that, Route 101 paved by Good Intentions Roadways just couple of years ago is in really bad and weary conditions. On the other hand, Route 40 built by Appian Roadways four years ago is still in really good condition. He also states that Appians have purchased a state-of-art paving machinery and a new quality-control manager. He finally suggests to hire Appians for constructing new roads for their new shopping malls. However the ideas and arguments presented by the vice president are really weak and unconvincing. Hence, should not be considered or accepted without prior research.

First of all, the vice president wrongly compares route 101 to 40. He never mentions the location of both. It is possible that the route 101 is in industrial area, where there is a huge traffic caused by heavy duty vehicles. Also, route 40 can be in a less populated area where hardly huge vehicles pass or only regular cars pass in this area. If, he does not clarifies the location, no decision can be made.

Secondly, the weather of the region should also be accounted while comparing both routes. Maybe, route 101 in the area where heavy rains, storms and hurricanes are too often seen. In this case, the Good Intention roadways can not be accounted for bad conditions of the road. It is possible that the route 40 has not seen extreme weathers. Hence, such information needs to be provided by the author.

Thirdly, the author never mentions what paving machinery is purchased by Appians. The quality of such tools have to be mentioned here. And such tools also need be compared with that of Good Intention Roadway's tools. The author wrongly assumes that hiring a new quality manager will enhance quality of Appian's roads. Maybe, the manager is only expert in management role and not in technical issues. Such, queries need to done before jumping to any results.

Fourthly,the author only talks about one road built by both companies. More data need to be collected about their other projects and current conditions. It is possible that Good Intention's other projects are highly successful and they are highly experienced in this field. Maybe, Appians do not have any other good route built to favor their arguments. So, if the author do not provide such data, his arguments remain inconsiderable.

In sum, the arguments presented by the vice president have so many flaws and lack evidences. Unless and until he provides more convincing arguments or strengthen them by providing reliable evidences, his recommendations should not be accounted. Maybe, more data should be collected for route 101's condition and the area and weather there. The assurance of quality from Appians also should be checked before handing them contracts.