The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

“The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

The author's argument is seemed to be ridiculous, for not just comparing intersections locating in different places, but hiring a company specialized in road-construction to build shopping malls. The author dose not present any data or evidence to show that the environmental conditions around the two intersections or any credentials proving that Appian Roadways has ability to construct a shopping mall. Thus, the speakers' positions are not tenable.

Firstly, the author begins with an inappropriate comparison between the surface condition of roads in Route 101 and that in Route 40, furthermore, the writer provides information regarding the building time of each one, trying to implicating that, although Route 40 was built earlier than Rout101, it was better than 101 road for its greater quality. Here, however, a plenty of possibilities could easily undermine such deduction. To illustrate, there are no evidence indicating that the traffic volume and most usual vehicle types in those two intersections. If the reason why Rout 101 is that bad is its much higher vehicle volume than that in Route 40, the claim asserting that the difference of conditions in two places results from quality is unsound.

Secondly, another information used by the author to strengthen his point is an appointment of a new quality-control manager and a new kind of machine. While it was understandable to infer that transferring in new techs and management high-grounds is a good sign, other explanations and possibilities could still be existed. A new manager does not represent for a better, in that high-hierarchy employees are not like lower staff, who will face the true business operations on the first day they get the job. those managers have a plethora of things to cope with, leaving limited time for them to understand the business well. Thus, those managers may still be static at their previous job titles' working logic, making them easier to fail to be succeed in a new environment. And, what is more is that, the new machine, instead of moving itself, we should consider the familiarity of their employees' usage of them. Therefore, there are a bunch of holes and obstacles for hiring them to replace the company constructing the Rout 101 on the part of road construction, much less a shopping mall, considering except inhibits.

To sum up, the author absurdly compare the conditions of intersections in two places without citing numerous evidence and data to espouse his own point, and what more unsound is that, he surprisingly hire a road construction team to build a mall, making more uncertainties within the writers' presuppositions.