The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shit its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock- and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The general manager of KNOW radio station states that the station should shift its programming from rock music to 24-hour news by serving reasons as the age of listeners, area music purchase report and neighboring situation. While the speaker's argument seems plausible, when take a closer view, his assumptions underlying the evidence he presents are flawed, leaving his argument weak in logic.

First of all, the speaker's first evidence is the number of listeners aged fifty or not, here, his assumption is that, people over fifty years old do not like to listen to rock music. No more data in his memorandum is provided to show that old people are less like to rock music, instead, given the popularity of rock music was during 80's in last centuery, elders might have been the bedrock of the station's listener. And, subsequently, he states that the total number of listeners has declined, in other words, his subtext is saying that, such situation is because of rock music. But the author still has no more evidence to support his argument. If the number is declining just for a regular fluctuation, his assumption will be underminded. Because small decline is decline, fluctuation is not a strong enough evidence to support his assumoption.

Secondly, the report of his area has shown that people's will buying records decreases. However, it does not relate to radio station, recorded music is totally different from radio station. Some radio station is free, so if KNOW station is free, it implies, insteaed, that people that will listen to radio station will be more in near future, but KONW station is not free and there are free station in certain region, the manager should consider that whether the subscribtion fee is the cause of consumer decline.

Thirdly, what is discussing now is that the general manager uses an example that is successful but in other city to strengthen his deduction. However, while it is seemingly right to use that example, there still have a lot of differences, like population, age and rivelry competetion. The population could influence the way to judge if a station is successful, for example, if the judge standard is listening population, that will be cheatful if the difference is too large. And the age is similar, although the radio in that city is successful when shift from rock to news, no age information are provided for us to make sure that elders are more likely to listen news.

To sum up, while the speaker uses a number of evidence to sell his argument, his evidence are rife with holes and his assumptions underlying them are still flawed. Indeed, to strengthen his idea, more detailed evidence and researches should be conducted.