The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays offemployees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating resumes and

developing interviewing skills, if they so desire.Laid-offemployees have benefited greatly from Delany’s services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year

Delany’s clients took an average of six months to findjobs,wherea Walsh's clients took nine.”

The speaker use certain evidence to reject the propose that use Walsh to take the place of Delany, which is their currently choice, even Walsh requires fewer money. The author's argument is seemingly plausible, but if we take a closer look, some flaws within his argument and evidence given are revealed, in the end challenging his argument harshly.

First of all, a comparison of the situation of job finding between those used Delany and those not is cited by the speaker, his assumption underlying his argument is that those used Delany in any scale will performance better than those do not use it in the process of finding a job. But there is no information about those two kinds of people. Such as the numbers, which plays a very important role when making a comparison. If the people used Delany are only ten, while those do not use are ten times more, it is irresponsible to say that Delany plays the decisive role, because when the basic number rises up, the range and standard deviation will ievitably increase as well, which means that, although the average time of finding a job of those do not use Delany is longer, it might be influenced by a small part of people's bad performance. Same reason could be used on people who use, the reason for ten people to find jobs within six months is probably their better performance. Therefore, without enough information, it is untenable to draw aconclusion.

Secondly, the writer also uses a case happened in eight years--Walsh was used but only half of the workers found jobs in a year period--to champion his choice of Delany. Here, however, a case in eight years before is no longer to be an enough convincing evidence, because during that period, huge development and untold traning programs were conducted in order to increase their company's professional ability. But the speaker reject Walsh without scrutinizing current operation situation of Walsh. And, if the company keeps having a bad professional ability, how can it survive to today? So it is necessary to conduct more research regarding backgrouds.

Thirdly, the assumption of a logic that more superior a company is, the better business ability it contains, lies in the speakers argument that Delany have bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. Although in people's eyes, larger companies provide standardized service, there is also a possibility that larger companies have so many clients that they are hardly extract attention on only one client. Furthermore, bigger staff and larger number of branches do not promise superior, what if facilities and scale of every branches are either inferior or small? Even the scale is larger than Walsh, the officials' professional ethics and quality is still mysterious.

To sum up, although the speacker cites three main argument to challenge the replacement of Delany with Walsh, its quality of evidence is problematic. The author noy only fails to conduct more study to get statistical numbers in his memo, but also fails to complete a logic in his argument. To strengthen his conclusion, it is necessary to take more situations into account.