Some people believe that in order to be effective,political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What qualities of a political leader should be called effective? Opinions are divided into two sides, one is the quality of agreeing with public opinions, and other one is sticking to principals and objectives. In my opinion, I believe the both could account for a great leader, but neither singular is not enough to describe an effective leader.

The first opinion, the true idea is that the effective leaders should listen to citizens, to hear from their needs, in order to purposefully act on policies aiming to solve their problems. In this interpretion, it is understandable, in that that is what democrocy suits for. Like America, every president candidate has campaigns in states in order to persuade them to vote for him, although it seems pragmatic, it is nevertheless a way to make promises to citizens, such as pricing policies that will be cooled down if he is selected as the president. But in other part of the first claim, saying leaders must yield to public opinions and abandon principles for sake of compromise, is wrong for an objective leader. Because, even though citizens' opinions are important and sign of democrocy, they fail to take a comprehensive view of the whole country issues. In certain requests, they will be beneficial for certain part's citizen but harmful for other part's. Moreover, whether sticking to rules or not is a standard to judge one's persona, compromising to citizens' harmful opinions to gain votes also implies how greater the possibility that those leaders will regret when they already are presidents.

But it does not mean that the second kind of people is fully right, because consistently committing to certain rules brings themselves more impression of stilted. Rules and principles are ruled by peoples with imperfections, indeed, no one is flawless. If some flawed principles obstacle residents lives, they should be abandoned anyway. Recent days, the Roe v. Wade was overrided by the superior court, it sensational to American women. The RvW itself is a classic case that describes leaders change a triditional principle for protecting women's rights. Thus, the second kind of idea has imcompletions as well.

To sum up, neither of the two have enough description of an effective leader, but if we put the two ideas together, it will form a more comprehensive view regarding the question. Effective leaders should yield to public opinions when orthodox is unreasonable, should committed to principles when opinions are unreasonable.