No filed of study can advance significantly unless outsiders bring their knowledge and experience to that field of study.

Nowadays, disciplines are not as single as they used to be. The era of single is heading to the end, not only for the single subject, but the single team, and the underlying cause for such diversity is the increasingly common sense of inter-discipline, which requires experts to co-work. Accordingly, I strongly concede the speaker's claim that a filed of research, at present, could not receive a highly development without commingling powers attracting from other areas.

Admittedly, overdue extraction of knowledge coming from different subjects causes counterproductive effect. For example, Chaoxing laboratory, the most recent and prosperous research institution specializing on auto-driving co-founded by Xian Technological University and Xian Jiaotong University, foundered after only 3 years of operation. The causes had been discussed a lot in Xi'An District. One clue to its failure was suggested to be the short of funds of Xian Technological University, because another counterpart is the top ten university in China, understandably, such problem should not blame on it. But given the vacant clue of fiscal deficiency of the both schools, retrenchment is not likely a plausible reason. The fact that the leader hired a wide range of professionals majoring in disparate areas as math, computer engineer, artificial intelligent expert and even project leaders working in enterprises just in order to construct a multi-platform and the most advanced unmanned-driving laboratory in China, is more likely to be the culprit of its shutdown. Since too many experts, leader-role companions working in a sole environment without specific working contents, relationships between workers went to the ice point very quickly, finally lead to bankrupt.

Despite special examples I have mentioned, I still fundamentally agree with the assertation that outsiders' knowledge is the key for a field to increasingly progress. And I believe the prerequisites are clear work assignments and strong theoretical foundations. Examples from two study areas, machine learning and management science, could provide us how inter-disciplines work.

Machine learning, a deeper research point on the basis of computer science, requires knowledge far more wider than computer science major. Rigorously speaking, it is a huge cross-discipline containing mathematics, hardware engineering, physics and statistics. For the four subjects, the mathematics is the most important and the basic of machine learning. To introduce the substance of ML, we should understand the main task is to transforming usual things in daily lives to various mathematical formulas, and then to test these formulas on computers by using algorithms resembling the process of solving usual things(formulas), and in the end, to make computer systems to understand indicators of users. But single algorithm is not ML, but the byzantine and massive arrows of codes are. While outsiders may misconstrue business management subject as qualitative research subject, plethora mathematical and probability knowledge should be learned by pioneering researchers. Like other research areas requiring repeated experiments and accurate data, management science also needs to promise the objectivity and precision, though no labs and objective subjects for management researchers to use, how to design a perfect field-study wiping nearly all the interruptions and subjectivities is showing significance. Meanwhile, using quantitative methodology and coding skill to strengthen the objectivity of research and to streamline the collection of data is also necessary for them. Accordingly, at present, nearly every matured study area requires different abilities, creating an increasingly extroverted and inclusive academia.

In sum, I acknowledge and recognize that there sometimes have examples of the failure of bringing outside knowledge to certain areas, but we could not overlook the benefits inter-disciplines contribute to us. And I expect that, in the future, the global academia will connect more closer, requiring more versatile savants to change the world better. Moreover, outsiders like us--nonexperts--are playing roles making their contribution meaningful as well.