Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

As the fact that heroes regarded by media outlets enjoy famous during their lifetime but diminish soon shortly after their deaths does exists, but that by no means indicate that every hero on the media has a consequence like that. Thus, I basically disagree the deduction of the asserted claim, I believe living man should be praised to be heroes for their model effects. As for the reason mentioned, it mainly results from the way of selection of heroes and the quality of selected ones.

Admittedly, heroes initially regarded by masses as kind, ingenious and sage, are criticized as well by them for their disingenuous purpose of their acceptance of media scrutiny, causing their reputation to diminish and deteriorate fast. One reason possible is about the way of such media programs. It is inappropriate, at least in the view of masses, for a veteran and honorific soldier to be invited to a series containing too much frivolous factors. Psychological mechanism underlying that is people's expectation affected by their stereotype of soldier that is rigorous and strict more or less has some effects on their judgment regarding such invitation. And, another possible inextricable implication of such invitation is about the veteran soldier's lucrative need, which could be satisfied through attending some shows. Accordingly, sometimes the media's way of making heroes popular is the cause of the diminishment of heroes' cachet.

However, we could not blame media's fault on the action of selecting heroes, or more precisely, the action of finding heroes. The previous media's method is like packaging a star and try to get more exposure on those "man-made heroes". But if we figure out the paramount point of heroes, they might have actually set up fantastic examples for masses.

Heroes, most of times are presented as individuals, like Cristiano Ronaldo, one of the greatest football player in the world, frequently changes a football game characterized by collectivism by himself alone. In Portugal, a joke is that there are no laws there but one, never insult Cristiano. Clearly, whatever from the perspective of media or individual, he is putatively regarded as civil hero. Although his techniques and understandings of football do not teach their fans, people learn a lot from his fearless and ambitious spirits, which are the true meaning of heroes. Moreover, role-models also show up in collective forms, especially in socialism country as China. But the name changes into " spirits of something ", iterating directly the inherent nature of heroes. In fact, heroes could be divided into different categories, not only confined within soldiers--real person--but also within visual reality, which could be translated to be the power of ideology, a kind of soft power. USA is the most successive country to influence the world with soft power as Hollywood films, American Dream, and so forth. The captain of America, a protagonist in Marvel film industry, well represents the ideal hero image of Americans, encouraging youngsters to fight like him. Accordingly, role-models and heroes could be in disparate forms but the similarity is their ability of encouraging people and being their spiritual tenet.

In sum, I acknowledge scrutinizing heroes inappropriately by media ultimately leads to diminishment of heroes' reputation, but the error of media should not be ascribed to the finding of heroes. People with substantial contribution have qualification to be selected, but the extent of the contribution depends on environments. Just like the form, the standards of selection of heroes are quite different, even the most ordinary people are pillars of their little families. Therefore, canceling regarding heroes is acceptable unless underlying rationale is misunderstood.