Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/ or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker use a deduction which is based on the movie stores' characteristic and a comparison with other movie store locating in downtown, to state his argument that the only way to increase their profit is to reduce their operation expense by shortening operating time. The owner's assumptions underlying his argument and deduction is rife with holes, making his memorandum vulnerable in logic.

Firstly, he denies the possibility of increasing their rental prices, because he contends that their stores' special bargains are the obstacle, but here, there is no relation between bargain and higher prices, in that increasing prices does not mean that consumers' right of bargining is canceled. Speaking conversely, even if risng prices is prohibited, leaving less room for bargaining may be another way to increase profits indirectly. Thus, more evidence regarding bargaining and price increase should be cited.

Secondly, what is dicussiing now is that a store in downtown that reduced its openning time from 9 PM to 6PM is used to generalize one of the speaker's assumptions, that are even it redeced operating time, surprisingly increased profits. Here, the owner makes two mistakes. The one is that, there is no information informing us that the store undertaking those changes are actually making profits, although that is what the author's assumption. If previous purchase records show that in the evening, when is a time for most people to buy movies because people living in center are only having spare time in such a time. So if that is true, the profits may not be increased. And the second mistake, even the downtown store made profits, it is unreasonable to generalize the situation in the city center to assume that other stores in different places will have the same effect. One possibility that can challenge the speaker's assumption is that the main reason for the store to make money is higher-density population.

Thirdly, eliminating movies made in five years is also viewed as a useful change without the support of statistics. Movies are not like costumes, which could be obsolete with the time, movies are defendible to be challenged by time if itself is a good art. Thus, it is better convincing if the author to check if their consumers are hating old films.

To sum up, the owner of Mobies Galore has refuted a direct way to increase profits and falsely generalize a special phenomenon to other stores, both without enough data and evidence. To strengthen his argument, more researches should be conducted, holes in logic should be completed.