The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

“For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin.Further more, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all ofour stores is to discontinue stocking many ofour varieties ofimported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses.”

The business manager cites two evidence, report from the newest cheese store and survey conducted by Cheeses of World, to strengthen his position that, since imported cheeses are not as popular as local cheeses, the chain stores should stop stocking them for reduction of expenses. Ostensibly, his argument seems to be plausible, but when analyze specifically holes underlying his argument are disclosed, and even evidence his cites are not strong enough to support his position.

Firstly, the manager claims that the five best-selling cheeses at the newest store were domestic cheese from Wisconsin, assumptions behind the evidence is that the manager avers sold imported cheeses represent for only a small part. But here, his assumption is not correct, in that there is no information indicating the result of the fact that the five best-selling cheeses are domestic must be the dearth of imported cheeses' selling number. For example, while the five most popular cheeses are domestic, their representation might have only a few percent higher than imported cheeses, at that time, the manager's original conclusion could not hold water any more. Moreover, even the situation is just as the same as his assumption, generalizing from one newest shop to predict the wholescale selling performance is not appropriate as well. Thus, the first evidence of the manager should be obviated for disadvantages analyzed before.

Secondly, the survey from Cheeses of World is also problematic. The manager assumes that increasing preference of people for domestic cheese is really a trend for focusing on domestic cheeses while abandoning imported ones. However, increasing trend cannot help us to draw a conclusion like that completely. Reasons for that are two. The first one is the range of the survey's subject, wherever it conducts, the survey shows tenuous support. Assuming it is conducted nationally, it will contradict the first evidence he cites for the discrepancy of places, and if it is made just in the region in which the newest store locate, it still has the same result in that his conclusion is saying about the whole stores. And another reason is the situation behind the description--increasing preference. No matter how many people love domestic or imported cheeses, both have rooms to increase, sometimes the most-consumed products will decrease but it does not undermine its status. Indeed, for products positioning at lower level, the price increase room is usually bigger.

In sum, the manager fails to figure out the logic underlying two evidence he cites, thus leading to a very weak deduction. And his overall generalization method used in his deduction also has huge limitations that even more deteriorate his arguments' weakness, making his memo unconvincing for his high-ground of the chain store.