Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education system was built to help us to find a pathway to gain knowledge, however not perfect, formal education system contributes to human society a lot. Before formal education system appeared, human's pursuit of konwledge is limited within two aspects: one is the area of knowledge, which is mainly about religious due to the controll of bishop; another is what leads people to gain knowledge, the curiosity. However, not every one will finds a curiosity regarding certain sceintific area before being usherred by someone. To encourage more people to find their favorites in certain areas is the purpose of formal education system.

Admittedly, formal education has downsides, as setting people's way of exploring scientific area in a narrower scope. For example, students in America need to choose AP courses if they want to enter in top-ranked universities, but whether those students really connect those courses with their future career is not clear, or even, they just choose them to exchange the admission from universities, which is a phenomenon disobeying the essence of education. In China, such situation exists more pervasively, students are divided into only two categories: science and arts, which means that in the high school, the formal education in China has already largely decided most of stduents' future life without telling those students, because people in that age is too young to predict, to envision the difference that the category brings to them. But there are also some policies to change the stilted system, like American universities allow children not to choose their subject in the first two years; Chinese education system allow children to freely choose three subjects out of six, all of which contain a signal wanting to set students free.

However, except drawbacks mentioned before, the formal system also contributes to much. The education path of a student is very long, while the length is largely controlled by themselves. Actually, all disadvantages mentioned so far are discussed within a scope, or configuration of a larger " advantage". Taking a wide scope, the formal education is divided into three stages, the first stage is the time before entering colleges, when students are educated widely, but basically and shallowly; the second stage ends with possessing the bachelor degree while the last stage is the indication aftering gaining a bachelor. If we are talk about the free of academics, if one is very interested in physics at his high school, that does not promise his enthusiasm in university study to be still consistent, because what they study in high school is very basic and easy. But even if one does favor physics very, it is necessary to be educated any other seemly unrelated but actually connected very closely subjects like maths, which give them the true freedom if they want to study deeper in physical area.

To sum up, while the formal system has several flaws and drawbacks, it does contribute to our society, and it actually sets up a logical study stage from wide and basic to narrow and expert. Someone misregard the stilted courses in high school as a regulation of restraining people, but it lends a foundation for students' more free research in the future instead.