The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava. “The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by

adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

The author cites a report of declining rate of birth as a prediction of decline in enrolling students in sooner year, and also view the equality of decreasing rate and decreasing number as the base of his or her reasoning. There are a bunch of alternative explanations challenging these arguments, and making the writer's position vulnerable in logic.

Firstly, the author begins with the statement that the decline of birthrate means the number of newborn will goes down. Here, the author fails to figure out the differences between the rate and the number. On condition that the total population of Calatrava is growing dramatically, even the rate shows little downward trend, the number of newborn is still increase. Consequently, without taking the change of total population into account, the author's argument is unsound. Also, the writer still mentions that the year's birth rate is only half that of five years ago. While we exclude the influence of total population, no data is give to prove that there were no substantially rise during the 5 years. Hence, if the statistics within that 5 years are all higher than that in the past, the writer's assumption is going to be challenged harshly. Thus, it will contain more convincing argument if the author could present more germane and precise evidence.

Secondly, an argument made by the author, the number of enrolling the public school will rapidly decrease, so they could safely shrink the funds assigned to education before. Within such argument, a number of flaws could be found. The first one is that, what is the type of school? If the school is elementary or senior school that has age limitation, the argument could be so wrong and not possible to be seen from a recent birthrate report. Because if a child want to go to an elementary school, he or she must enter 7 years old, and the birth year was 7 years ago. Thus if the author tries to work out the next year's enrolling student number, the writer need to conclude a ramification from former statistics. The same explanation could also be used on the entrance of other types of schools. Therefore, the author fails to clearly the correlation between the birthrate and the enrolling time, making the argument falling apart. Moreover, even if the number of students entering in schools next year do decline as the prediction of the author, no information of the status of funds is shown to corroborate that currently assigned funds are already enough for schools to use. If the funds are readily paltry to invest in education system, another cut on funds again exacerbates the situation. The type of school other than public-run is not mentioned in the passage. Thus, the author's argument cannot hold water not only because the assumption and reasoning is vulnerable, but also the result of the lacking of wide-range evidence.

Thirdly, the writer says that it is reasonable to reduce the athletic playing fields and some recreational facilities. Here, there are no relations between the reduction of those facilities and that of birthrate. The author's assumption is that these facilities are specially designed for children, and they should be reduced as less children were born. The main assumption from author is flawed in that these places are also popular among adults. Therefore, without conducting relative surveys, the author's assertion is easily qualified by other possibilities. Additionally, the result of the author's argument is that they should invest more in programs adults love due to the prediction of increasing adults number in the future. Such argument is paradoxical with preceding arguments. As it mentioned in the passage by the writer, the newborn is facing a dramatically downward trend, which could lead to a same paucity of young adults. So the end of argument is outright not parallel with the statements before.

In a nutshell, the argument as the author stands in the passage is flawed due to the considerable paucity of solid evidence and several pieces of wishy-washy findings that are inaccurate. So the writer should contain more tenacious evidence and facts, and do more logically reasoning before giving a result.