The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

“Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

While it is understandable to assume that people are eager to save energy as the large development of applicants in home and predict that the energy generated by plants is enough for the future usage of the town, the authors' assumption within such argument is tenuous due to the absence of extra evidence, making the argument weak in logic.

Firstly, the author begins with the statement that a survey supports a opinion that people are desired to save energy. Here, no information about the survey is given to indicate the effectiveness of such research. For example, what if the sample size of the survey is low, it could not conclude a convincing conclusion, or that, the age of participants in the research is limited, thus would not reflect the attitudes of people in every generations. Consequently, the writer made an unsound argument without presenting extra statistics about the survey.

Secondly, the author also mentions that the total demand of electricity in such region will not go up but will decrease instead as a result of the co-operation of people's attitude and the development of applicants used at home. The correlation between the usage of electricity and the conservation ability of devices is not so clear and linear, and it could be influenced by a number of factors. For example, in the midst of the ten years as mentioned by the author in the passage, when devices improved rapidly, does the population in such region stay constant? Does the number of applicants used and produced in families and factories stay still? The answer is unknown, the author presents no such data to prove his or her argument. If the total number of people and the type of household applicants rise along with the reduction of energy wasted, we could not precisely figure out the situation of total energy used without calculating relative data that are not found in the passage. Hence, it is suggested that the author should contain more statistics within the argument, or the argument is rife with holes.

Finally, the result of the author's reasoning is that, there would be no need to construct new generating plants in that current plants' generation ability is suited for current consumption of electricity. Such reasoning is flawed, and multiple possibilities could challenge it. Even though the author's preceding argument is right, the writer still limits his or her assumption in a specific range, a usage for living. The factories' consumption of electricity should also be seen as an important demand, and sometimes the factory requires more. The author fails to assume the future development of the area, enough electricity plants are the base of enormous population living there, and also that of companies producing energy-saving household devices. Moreover, emergencies are also ignored by the author. The author, therefore, should plan more for future, and consider the staff form a wider range, that is the way to strengthen his or her argument.

In a nutshell, the argument as the author stands in the passage is flawed due to the considerable paucity of solid evidence and several pieces of wishy-washy findings that are inaccurate. So the writer should provide more precise and comprehensive data within the passage to make the argument hold water.