Many people believe that it is very important to make large amount of money while others are satisfied to earn a comfortable living. Analyze each point and take a stand. Give specific reasons for your position.

Even the claim itself is convincing and reasonable because greater city usually require more funds to thrive, its reason is provincial. Sometimes major cities are ensured to be given large amount of fiscal support not due to its cultural advantage, but due to its development potential and extant population and local facility scale.

But I cannot wipe out the possibility that some big cities are given money for their cultural advantage. For example, some cities in China, where is one of the origins of Asia Culture, are protected well by providing enough funds. Xian, having the richest history in China, contains a plethora of relics in Chinese history, and it had become the capital city for over ten dynasty over the past two thousand years. However, given its location in the mid of China, its strategic value deteriorates a lot in modern society, so normally speaking it should have poor economic performance like cities around it as Gansu or Ningxia, but it turns out to be economic core in the mid-China. I believe the reason is its rich history, which is consistent with China's government's policy protecting traditional culture and building up cultural confidence. Thus, assigning more fiscal support to it could result from its cultural value.

However, rich history being the primary rationale for a city's financial support is not common, city like Xi An is anomalous. Multiple reasons could explain why countries must assign financial support to their big cities. In mid-eastern countries, they regard their major city as the impression of their whole country, then lend untold support to those cities on buildings, traffic systems and domestical facilities. And for city like New York City, a city contains the densest population in the world, received the highest support from federal government, but what history value could be found on it? I acknowledge that the NYC held relative rich history compared to America, since it was founded in 17C by immigrations, but the tradition culture is a very tiny factor affecting its fiscal support comparing with its financial potential. And even in city having both history and financial potential, the role of tradition culture preservation is still minuscule. Accordingly, history of city does play a role in influencing a country's decision on financial support, but we cannot conclude that into the only and vital one.

In sum, although the claim shows reasonableness, its underlying reason is too narrow. History factor is one of the factors explaining why country should assign fiscal support to major cities, but when compare to other reasons like economic potentials and the need of improve people's lives, it becomes extraneous.