Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Should governments put limitations on scientific researches? Some assert that governments should place restrictions and rules on scientific projects for regulating researchers harmful and unethical experiments. While others proclaim that research projects should be lead by professionals instead by laypersons. I believe the both opinions could be beneficial to scientific research and development, thus cooperating the contradicting parties' positions together is a better way to discuss the question.

On the one hand, restrictions on research are prompted largely. Researching staff are group of people whose inherent mood and personal quality are diverse to promise no errs in their studies. Experiment data or methodology flaws are confusing for experimenters but they are adaptable and discernable , once any one of them conducting chemical or related dangerous experiments has some mental maladies and nefarious purpose, the resulting consequences are unable for human-beings to take. Just like the plan of Manhattan, from which the nuclear weapons were invented, if without the supervision of American government, they might be exploited to serve to certain unimaginable purpose.

On the other hand, glut limitation on research projects obstacles their natural growth. The extent of restriction is like two statement of societies, capitalism and socialism, and over restriction is the latter one, which evades with characteristics that are country-dominant, collective and irrefutable. The biggest downside of that is the far more greater possibility being false under the lead by laypersons, that is, officials.

However, singly speaking both of the two will inevitably leads to an extreme situation. The scientific research should be guide by governments' special departments within certain extent. For example, the governmental department gives suggestion and predilections to related researching institutions after studying the context of the country, by doing so could reduce the opportunity cost that could be make when institutions head to wrong researching way, while increasing the value of researching projects because the relating results are suitably align to gaps provided by special department beforehand. Thus there is an equilibrium for the government and the researching institutions. For example, China is doing such the best in the world as the biggest socialism country. There are a number of branches under a core department called Chinese Technology institution, which specializes on aligning scientific results with the demand of current China. Such instances are not only produced by China's special social properties, but also by its developing situation. China could not act like United States, where the connection between industry and education is highly matured, China's education generally are less sensitive to changes in industries, though small part of them are in the top in the world.

In sum, scientific research is necessary to a country's development, and whether it should be restricted by the government is decided on the country's situation, even for developed country the indications from governments on some sensitive and secretive researches are still evasive. Therefore, I individually more support to put restrictions on scientific research, but only within reasonable extent.