"No field of study can advance significantly unless outsiders bring their knowledge and experience to that field of study."

Can a particular field of study thrive, if the researchers who study that field only study the aspects related to that particular discipline and ignore all other notions? Certainly not in today’s world. From time to time, this generation has noticed that to further advance in one field, we are often required to know the pre-requisite that might be related to some other field mainly because of two aspects, i.e., multi-disciplinary subjects and intensive derivation.

First of all, one interest might be a resultant of two or more subjects, which is popularly known as multi-disciplinary fields. The term alone suggests that people from different areas of interest are brought together to create a new field, which also helps in the advancement of the previous fields involved. For example, the robotic industry was only introduced after the expertise of mechanical, electronic, and computer science engineers were put forward on one table. The mechanical engineers were required to work with electronic engineers to correctly identify the metals involved and the computer science engineers were made to understand the dynamics of the robot, to create a software good enough to make the utilities of the robot, functional. In this case, the knowledge of outsiders didn’t only help create a new area of expertise but also helped the industries involved to advance much more significantly than they could have if they were left to grow independently.

Furthermore, the apprehensible formulas might have come from intensive derivation made in another field. To further elaborate, let’s take the invention of the aircraft industry. To make aviation a successful project, the engineers involved in the manufacturing of aircraft were required to take the help of keynotes of physicists involved in the field of aerodynamics. Not only, these key notes from another field helped in the advancement of the aircraft industry, they saved the engineers the hassle of deriving such intensive equations without understanding every aspect of aerodynamics. The same phenomenon could be seen in other areas such as weather prediction, which involves a combination of physics, machine learning, and mathematics.

To conclude, unless the research field is bound to only dig deeper with exceptional time constraints, most fields require knowledge of outsiders to advance significantly in their own aspects and hence the speaker here stands corrected.