“We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Do we learn more from people whose views we share are similar to what we believe than from people whose views contradict us? Such a case is not necessarily true as while growing up, I learned far more from debates than regular classroom teaching where I had to believe facts that were given to me without actually questioning why the fact existed in the first place. A room where we all had the same viewpoint made the learning itself to be monotonous but a debate and disagreements in the room enhances one's capability to learn rather than inhibit it for mainly two reasons, i.e., a debate enhances one's capability to process more and secondly, a viewpoint could not be a simple fact but a much deeper thesis involving various exceptions, for which a combination of agreement and disagreements of facts is necessary.

To begin with, an average person is capable of falling into the monotony of a viewpoint, so much so that even if the fact that he knows is wrong, he would tend to absorb such incorrect information without actually questioning the validity of the thesis. A disagreement here would certainly mean a rise in curiosity which would make the comprehension of the thesis more profound. For example, in the case of classroom learning, where a teacher makes a statement and then divides students into groups for debates and discussion, every individual’s ability to learn more about the statement would be higher than if the teacher simply states her statement and then continues with a monotonous explanation of the statement. In such a situation, not only the students would comprehend better due to the active engagements because of disagreements but also know about the pros and cons of the statement, which hence would only enhance their knowledge about certain situations better.

Secondly, a discord during the rise of a thesis in the room could diminish the error of disbelief and make the facts more intact rather than viewpoints that could be just loosely clinging onto a thesis. For example, during the 19th century, a debate about the structure of an atom rose to its peak, which made us lead to a better understanding of how atoms and molecules exist. A disagreement here with the first assumed structure of an atom was crucial for the making of the consecutive thesis, which happened to be more reliable.

Although, one might argue that disagreements and debates within a room could lead to delay in conclusions, which could only contribute to stress and thus inhibit learning. This case is however true and inevitable in situations with time constraints but to get more precision and accuracy in the comprehension of viewpoints, time would be a crucial compromise. By only keeping the time factor aside, it is hence safe to say that debates within a room would complement learning instead of suppressing it.

In conclusion, unless two groups are looking forward to making decisions within a short time constraint consisting of a few seconds, the fact that disagreement could impede learning could be stated as incorrect. Otherwise, a well-reasoned debate between people with opposing viewpoints is the fundamental factor where human knowledge rises. Thus, depending on the balance, the speaker might stand fundamentally correct.