Learning is primary a matter of personal discipline, students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

I personally partly agree with the speaker's claim, because although in some extent the learning is only a part of individuals, it also could be influenced by student groups, academic organizations, and classmates in colleges.

Admittedly, how and when to learn is decided based on one's habits and learning per se is actually said to be the self-absorbing of knowledge. People learn things from different ways, some can memorize key points by scanning, loudly reading or copy-writing. In the real universities, notebooks written by high academic performance students are always popular within student groups, assuming that what prominent students write is the best spot. While it is irresponsible to refute the content of those notebooks, the way of writing and logic underlying them is whether suitable for certain student are unconclusive. Moreover, as a purposeful action favored by extremely few part of students, learning should be motivated by one's goals and be limited by one's conditions. Purposes and conditions are nearly impossible to change by outside environment unless a huge transformation takes place on oneself. Thus, from perspectives mentioned, learning would amount on a personal discipline without influenced by other factors.

However, arguments stated before could noy completely discuss the original assertation. Quite aside from deciding by students' own factors, their studying states are also more or less sub-conscientiously linked with environments provided by schools.

Atmospheres, a vital influencing factor on the road of learning, are the densest in academic institutions. They may cause a psychological effect which could not be noticed by oneself, that is, students' inclinations to be anomalous in a group. For example, in libraries where students are full of energies and dedicated on studying, students who do not want to learn will be forced to do that because such innate effect requires them to be similar with others. Furthermore, conditions and environments the school provides also plays an important role in affecting people's learning, such as online library and free access of famous journals, and even some discourses held by prominent professors. As long as students find those resources helpful they are becoming beneficiary of schools and colleges. Wonderful individuals studying or teaching at academic institutions are another supporting evidence to the linkage of students' learning to schools. The reason why society sets role models is to spur people's desire to emulate. In schools is the same, role models are encouragements for students, providing them spirits and confidence.

To sum up, personally learning is decided and influenced by both oneself and environment, although such latter affect is not so obvious, we could not obviate their existence. Thus, schools and colleges motivations are equally important for one's learning.