The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

“To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

A bunch of questions within the passage need to be answered. One pertains to whether these new residents recently moved after retirement have distaste to rock music, another one, whether the form of news and talk popular in that area is favored by these retired people, is also need to be proved by citing more evidence. Thus, the author's argument is problematic and rife with holes.

Firstly, the author begins with the statement that their listeners are declining while the total population is growing as a number of retired people moving to the town. And the writer's assumption underlying his argument that they need to make those elders their new listeners is they have no feelings toward rock music so they manage to change a form of music. Here, no survey or any related research is conducted to prove these old residents do no love rock. Hence, as we know, the gold time of rock'n'roll was around 70's or 80's, when was those at those elders' young age, thus it could be not shocked that they are actually zealots of that music. Consequently, it undercuts the writer's argument of changing music. Moreover, the passage just presents an assertation made by author that they are switching to music tailored to their tastes, but no such data concerning what they love is given in the passage. The author fails to pursuit their flavor only by contemplating instead of making a market research. As a result, it is suggested that the writer's argument will be strengthened if he or she could cite more evidence.

Secondly, the author also mentions that after implementing their new music strategy, the number of listeners even significantly goes down again, and then results that tragedy from the imprecise selection of music for new residents. Here, while it might be true for the author to consider the opinions from new comers but more significantly is that, he fails to take the ideas of their currently maintained listeners into account, and such situation results in a severer embarrassment that, not only could not attract new listeners but also lose old fans. Thus, to ameliorate this loss, the author needs to reconsider from a wider range. Additionally, what if the cause of that loss is that they have no idea of WWAC radio station because of limited advertisement input. If this is true, making the writer's argument vulnerable in logic.

Finally, the author also argues that they should transform to a news and talk format favored by increasing people in the area. At this point, the author could not show any information about the fans of such format, are they old? Or are they young? If these population are elders, it could be a promise way to change, but if they are mainly youngsters, the change no longer has any meaning because it obeys the station's significant aim, making newly moved retired people their new listener. Furthermore, even though positing these fans are elders, the number of them is not shown to prove that it is worthy to pursuit them by giving up their old followers. For example, the currently maintained fans are 100 people, if the station changes its rock music to a news format favored by elders, whose number is only 50, so it is unwise to make a change. Hence, before really transform a music format, two important things need to be done and they are conducting whether news and talk is elders' favorite and what is the opportunity cost if the author makes a change.

In a nutshell, it might be said that no convincing deduction in the passage is given, and the writer fails to take alternative evidence to complete his idea. The argument ends up with an outright untenable conclusion based on wishy-washy findings that are possible to be inaccurate. Thus, the writer fails to persuade the WWAC radio station to make a change.