The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year Clearly the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The director of advertising department of the Super Screen Movie contends that the company should allocate a great share of its next year budget on advertising by suggesting that there are a contradictory situation in reports: while people attended to Super Screen-produced movies decreased last year, the positive commentaries rise instead. Although the speacker'a argument is seeming plausible, he still fails to take more possibilities into account and some holes could be found on his cited evidence.

First of all, the director mentions a recent report which telling him that the attendence people in last is the least compared with any other year. Here, the report's accuraty is problematic, because if the movie company is large and have several cinemas, its report could be conducted by investgating some cinemas and generalize the wholescale situation. Such methodology is surely used in academic world, but there is no information tells us how to judge such report's effectiveness. Furthermore, even such report reflects exact situation, we still do not know the timeness of this report and reports from any other time. For example, recent report was introducing the director information about the first two seasons while other reports show statistics in a whole year, so at this situation, we should not compare those reports in that the last two season might the high song of wathing movies.

Secondly, the director uses percentage of positive reviews to try to convince the company that movies produced by them are excellent. However, the percentage means nothing, in other words, when the basic number is not big enough, using percentage as an evidence is tenuous. There are two movies, for example, one of which is watched and rated by one hundred people while the another is watched and rated by ten people, and the respective prportion of positive rating are 90% and 95%. So can we conclude that the latter one is definitely better than the former? Obviously the answer is no, because the first movie was judged by more people and still show a competitive score, though its percentage is ostensibly weaker.

Thirdly, the author connot conclude from two evidence rife with holes, and even the two evidence are right and clear, it is unreasonable to eliminate other factors. Another factor affecting the strange situation could also be the problem of solid facility. The cinemas' facility will prevent viewers from attending even though movies there are great. And there is also no information telling us that the advertising outcome in other time is not great. If the advertising outcome was already great but still have a few watchers, the problem should not lie in the advertisement.

To sum up, the author's argument is seemingly reasonable, but when take a closer view, holes containing within the logic and evidence are revealed. To strengthen his argument, more solid evidence should be cited and more research about other possibilities should be conducted.