The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

In the above memo, the vice president recommends that their company should hire Appian Roadways to construct the roads for all of the new shopping malls. The author supports his argument on the basis of the premise that the roads, which were constructed by the Appian Roadways are still in good condition after four years. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is circumstances from one thing can be used to predict and generalise about the other? In other words, are the roads, made by Good Intention Roadways and roads, made by Appian Roadways similar? Maybe the roads, made Good inattention highway is run through the area, where traffics are too much and the amount of rain was too much to handle. On the other hand, the roads, made by the Appian Roadways run through the locality where very few people use vehicles or weather of the area was mostly sunny during the past two years. If the above condition is true then the author’s recommendation holds no water.

Secondly, will purchasing new technologies improve their road standard? Maybe the new technologies malfunction too frequently that, they can not be used on regular basis. On the other hand, hiring a new quality control manager may not improve their work. There is a possibility that to expurgate the ignominy, caused over the past few years, the Good Intension Company may borrow some of the more technically advanced machines, which may help them to rejuvenate their previous reputation. Perhaps the recent technologies are not that much of an advance, maybe ensue of them using the technologies will be pernicious rather than lucrative. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s recommendation is built unreliably.

Thirdly, can past results be used to evaluate and predict the future? In other words, will the Good Intention Roadways never be recovered from their infamy? Maybe the Good Intension Roadway may improve their works and roads quality, and the roads constructed by them may last more than 6-7 years. There is a possibility that after hiring a new manager the work efficiency of the Appian Roadways may decrease. Maybe they will get ignorant about their reputation for continuing commitment or in the future they may face some economic backslash after borrowing costly technologies. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s recommendation is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that the Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years.