The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Work town, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above memo, the author recommends that they should supply UltraClean hand soap at all hand-washing stations instead of currently available liquid hand soap. The author supports his argument on the basis of the report from the testing of UltraClean hand soap with hospital stuffs. However before the author’s argument is properly evaluated three unseated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author draws his conclusion about the effectiveness of the new hand soap based on the reports of the hospital staff without providing any persuasive evidence. A reader can raise questions about the authenticity of the report. The provides no admissible evidence to conform about how many people reported to the survey or how long ago the survey was conducted. Perhaps 20 people reported that the new hand soap is more effective than the previous liquid soap. Then, drawing conclusion from a report of a puny sample size is considerably unwarranted. There is a feasibility that on that day there are significantly fewer patients were admitted to the hospitals for infection. If, the author provides some statistical chart regarding the reports, then the author’s conclusion may have sounded more veritable, otherwise, if any one of the above scenarios is true, then, the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, the author uses one circumstances from one thing to evaluate and predict the other. The author states that after using new type of soap, in their hospital, the number of infected patients was declined, this implies it will be effective for the other hospitals too. Maybe in other hospitals’ condition is not similar at all. Perhaps most of the infected patients were admitted there for other deceases , which can not be controlled by changing hand soaps. The author’s argument is not persuasive, it can become more admissible if, the author provide more concrete evidence as statistical data charts of the patients of each of the hospitals, then a reader may have some veritable facts, otherwise, if any one of the above scenarios is true then, the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author states that only applying the new hand soap will prevent most of the people from infections without any viability of the proposed assumption. Maybe people in the area was admitted to those hospital for more serious decease, which does not have any relation with cleaning hands. The proposed idea may not be worked as expected. If the author is able to provide scientific evidence about the supplements of the new hand soaps, then it should help to necessitate the author’s recommendation, otherwise if the above situation is true, then, the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to reliance on some unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to justify the three assumptions above or offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that people should switch to the Ultra Clean hand soap from the current liquid hand soap.