The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Answer- In the above letter, the author argues about the after-effect of downsizing in Elthyria. The author states that the editor’s claim about after effect of downsizing is significantly weakened by the report, which suggests that far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated and most of them are full-time jobs with a better average salary. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated arguments need to be answered.

Firstly, the author draws his conclusion based on a recent report about the proliferation of new jobs since 1999, though the author does not provide any veritable evidence about the authenticity of the report. The author does not provide any justifiable evidence regarding his conclusion, which was based on the recent report. There is a possibility that the report was based on very skimpy sample size. Maybe 1000 people responded to the report. Then, the author’s conclusion based upon a report, which was built on very small sample size is seriously weakened. If the author is able to provide some admissible evidence, perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of each year’s job market, then, a reader may be little idea about the authenticity of the author’s conclusion.

Secondly, the author states that since the unemployment rate is the lowest level in decades, people should not have any problem getting new jobs. The author does not provide any evidence about the future condition of the job market. There is a possibility that in the recent future the job market may crash and the unemployment rate will rise significantly. Then, the ramification of downsizing will be severely pernicious for the employees, who lost their job. Even if this is not the case, in the recent future competition for the job will be increased significantly. Too many job seekers may enhance the unemployment rate in the future. If, any one of the above scenarios is true then, the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author does not provide any evidence regarding the job market condition in the recent future. If the author is able to provide perhaps in the form of statistical data about the future conditions of the job market then, a reader can understand the author’s argument.

Thirdly, the author argues that the newly created job is more lucrative than the previous one. Furthermore, the author states that most of the new jobs are full-time and they pay more average salaries than before, but the author does not provide any information regarding the types of requirements of the new jobs. Perhaps the new jobs are not similar to the previous ones. There is a case that, job opportunities in the IT industries are significantly lower following the recent downfall of the share market. Then, an employee, who was affected by the downsizing, may faces predicaments to find a new suitable job. The author does not provide any necessitate data regarding the job market. In addition to providing information about the salaries of new jobs, if, the author includes some pursuable information regarding the types of new jobs and requirements of the new jobs, then, the author’s argument may have been strengthened.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author can answer the three unstated assumptions above and offer some pursuable evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that after downsizing, employees will not find any difficulty finding new jobs.