The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighbouring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

In the above memorandum, the manager of the KNOW radio station argues that switching from rock-and-roll music to a 24-news channel will be more remunerative. For that, the author relies upon the premise, which is based upon the recent decline of total listeners of music and the success of the news channel of the nearby city. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions must be answered.

Firstly is people’s age determining factor of any culture? Or is people’s choice depending on their age? The author argues that since the number of people over 50 years increased dramatically they will not listen to the Rock-And-Roll music anymore. Maybe people over 50 years actually like the Rock-And-Roll music. Perhaps they prefer Rock-And-Roll music over any type of people. There is a possibility that most of the young people in the listening area is not fond to rock and roll type of music. Then the audience for the radio station will be people 50 years old or more. In future due to technological advancement, the listener of the Rock-And-Roll will increase dramatically. There is a case that new technology will advertise Rock-And-Roll type of music more in the listening area and because of that people will be more interested to listing of the music broadcasted by the radio station. If anyone of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument holds no water.

Secondly, is any data considered to be true without verifying survey was legitimate or not? The author’s argument is based upon the report about the decreased sales in Rock-And-Roll music in music stores without any evidence. We can raise several questions about was the sample data for the survey was representative? Or how long ago the report was made? Or how many people responded to the survey? Maybe 10 per cent of all music stores reported to the survey. There is a case that people may tend to listen music on the radio rather than buying music cidi from the stores. Then the argument is seriously flawed. There is a case that the report was made on a festival season, for that most of the music shops were closed. If anyone of the above scenarios is true then the above argument is seriously weakened.

Thirdly, Are two neighbouring cities’ news similar? The author argues that new channels in neighbouring cities are more lucrative. Maybe the two cities are not that of a similar. Perhaps Know radio station is in a more peaceful city compared to neighbouring cities. Maybe people in the city is more peace-loving than other cities. Then Know radio station may not broadcast exciting news to attract viewers. There is a case that people in the city may not prefer the type of the news that KNOW radio station will broadcast. There is a possibility is that people may prefer to watch the news on TV or other technology rather than listening on the radio. If any one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably.

In the conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed argument that switching to news-channel from music channel will actually one more profitable.