The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock- and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The general manager believes that shifting from rock and roll music to 24 hour news will be a sensible option for the growth and stability of the KNOW organization. The author reaches this conclusion based on numerous assumptions that may indicate that the argument is persuasive. However, as implied, the author's recommendation is predicated on three erroneous assumptions that undermine the premises' credibility.

First and foremost, the author considers that the number of people over the age of fifty has increased dramatically in the listening coverage area of KNOW. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps the increased rate of elderly citizens isn't all that significant. It might be three or four people. Furthermore, the elderly may be so old that they lack the interest or proclivity to listen to the news on radio broadcast. If one of the above possibilities is correct, the author's claim that they should focus on 24 hour news because older people like it is invalid.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the decline in recorded music sales reflects a decline in the number of listeners. It might also be false. Perhaps as a result of current technology's growth, the majority of listeners own either smart phones or music player gadgets. As a result, they do not go to the store to purchase recorded cassettes. Furthermore, listeners' music tastes may have shifted in the last few years. However, retailers may have not changed their stock in response to demand. As a result, the listeners may refrain from going to the shops. If either of the preceding two arguments is correct, the author's premise about listeners' musical tastes does not make much sense.

Finally, the author believes that success in neighboring areas utilizing the formula of focusing on 24 hour news will be replicated in this area. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps the attitudes and tastes of people in two separate locations differ. Those in one location may choose something that is repulsive to people in another. Furthermore, the number of elderly individuals in the surrounding area may be enormous in comparison to this place. As a result, these two plausible responses to the author's erroneous assumption weaken the author's argument.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in projecting that shifting from rock and roll music to 24 hour news will boost its credibility and future prospects. However, as it is, the prediction is based on three unfounded assumptions that jeopardize its validity. If the author wants to improve the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he must thoroughly review his assumptions.